Sip, cycle, repeat


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Hastings
November 29th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On my wayOn my wayOn my way

I started my cycling tour at Te Awa winery
Kia Ora:
There can't be a better way to see a place than from a bicycle. I hooked up with Bike De-Vine for a wonderful day-long trip. I was on my own and for $60 NZ got pick up and drop off at my hotel, water, map and a route they custom-designed for me to let me get to Te Mata Winery, which was one I was keen to taste at. The day was like all the others have been, clear, cloudless blue sky, brilliant sun and coolish temps. Ideal for cycling. I pedaled through two towns - Hastings and Havelock North, and I feel I have at last mastered the left-hand-drive mystery of the roundabout. I have plenty of cheese left from the previous night's supper, so I bought a local tomato and avocado and had an al fresco lunch at CJ Paske, along with a glass of their excellent Shiraz. I was especially happy to get to Unison winery, a very small operation where the winemaker, Bruce, poured for me and we talked wine in the barrel aging cellar. The wines are spectacular, from the pinot gris to the amazing rose made with Shiraz grapes - a red Kool-Aid
Roses among the vinesRoses among the vinesRoses among the vines

Many small wineries had roses in the vineyards
colour and delicious. The big boy reds blew my socks off. His signature blend is available at the LCBO, which is good news. Hard to bring wine home because it has to go in the suitcase.
Dinner last night at Pacifica - the best meal I've had in ages. The chefs here can more than hold their own against anything we have in Toronto. This is a part of the world dedicated to foodies and it shows. Fresh and local is the order of the day.
Today, a last deco tour up into the hills around town to see the homes and a visit to the aquarium this aft - a small building on the Marine Parade and home to kiwis and little blue penguins. My flight leaves Napier at 4:30 today - Friday - Thurs. to you. And then the long journey home. What a wonderful trip it's been and I'm glad I got to share it with you!
Will post again before I leave NZ.
See you all soon.
Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The winemakerThe winemaker
The winemaker

Bruce, who runs Unison with his wife Barbara-Ann
lunchlunch
lunch

Te Mata Cheese Co. blue and brie, bread, local veggies and a glass of Shiraz at CJ Paske
The routeThe route
The route

Velcro strips held the winery tour map to the bike's handlebars. Neat idea.
HastingsHastings
Hastings

The town was very pretty and dig the funky street lights
RelaxingRelaxing
Relaxing

In the town square - with sheep sculptures
Santa!Santa!
Santa!

Santa Claus flies through Hastings
BaaaBaaa
Baaa

What are ewe looking at?
lovely scenerylovely scenery
lovely scenery

The hills and wineries on the route
NapierNapier
Napier

The beach at Napier
Napier at nightNapier at night
Napier at night

The Daily Telegraph building
FountainFountain
Fountain

On the Marine Parade in Napier


4th December 2007

lost and found
Hey L.B.: Blogs stopped coming directly to my e-mail for some reason but I went back and caught up on all your wine-tasting trips and animal-specific photos, so I don't have any reason to feel sheepish. (ahem. sorry.) Looks great though! Keep having fun (he added redundantly).

Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 18; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb