The Road To Cathedral Cove


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Hahei
December 14th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

0km, I set off today from my small haven @ 8:45 this morning on foot, breaking in my new Black Diamond tracking poles. My plan to hit the infamous 309 Road to Cathedral Cove. (infamous for it's addaptivenes to "sporatic" growth of cannabis)

3km, I reached town, bought some supples and put Coromandel to my back.

6km, I turned left on 309 and started hitching. Quite a couple of cars went by with no hits.

The best way to describe what I've been going through since taking the ferry is: I set off down stream without a paddle. When I got to the campsite & the couple of days I spent there was me finding a paddle. Today as I leave the safety of camp behind me & with no idea where I will spend the night, I've thrown away my paddle, invited aboard the riverguide who created the river & am now enjoying the scenery! It's brilliant, I should have done this ages ago!

As this dawned on me, I said to God: "I
trust you compleately & utterly". He replied: "Really... prove it!" "Ok", I said, "I will stop hitching for rides because you will provide for me & we're having such a great time together. I trust your judgement. If You want me to have a lift, send me a kind soul". We both agreed.

9km, I stopped at the Waiau Waterworks, by this time my feet were killing me & I dunked them in a little stream. I didn't fork ou the $15 entry fee, I figured I'd be back here anyway some day & it's more of a family thing anyway.

12.7km, I reached the Waiau Falls. Not as impressive as the falls back home, but it had a rock pool to swim in. As Daantjie Kat taught us is school, look left look right and jump naked into the pool. I wasn't about to dissagree & I did just that. The water was icy, but refreshing! As I exited the pool I realized I was not alone. This is how I met Andrea, and the rest of the afternoon, well...

Just kidding, I glad no one was there, the water was rather cold, it would have been embarasing! I really wanted to camp here, but it was too damp & overgrown. The best spots where under the flood line & the weather here is fickel.

13.3km, I passed a Kauri Grove, It was 10min walk from the road but I deceided to skip it as my feet were already tired & I started going upwards against the mountain towards the summit.

16km, I finally reached the summit. I was exhausted, I thought I would keel over & die! I had exhausted all my energy coming up the hill. I couldn't camp anywhere so I set off for the Bush Creek Cottage, 9km away. I hadn't walked 50m when a small van stopped beside me & Ross, the driver, asked if I needed a lift.

Ross & his son, Domenic, was on their way to meet his other son Paddy, in Whitianga. This is on my way to Catheadral Cove so I asked if I could go all the way to town. They didn't mind & invited me 4 a beer at The Fireplace. Ross is a producer & Dom an actor, coincidence I think not! He gave me the name of a well respected editor form SA who can possibly give us some advice.

They drove me all the way to Cathedral Cove & dropped me at the Hahei Holiday Resort. God sent me someone when I was tired & exhausted. The lift saved me 2 days worth of walking. Trust God to provide for you, He loves comming through for us! God is good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb