Helping on the farm


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Coromandel Town
September 17th 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Up early as we volunteered to help on the farm in the morning. Walked over to the main house and our first task was to feed an orphaned baby lamb a bottle of milk. He was so cute!! Lets us get close enough to pet him. Then we had to feed the hens. Put some corn in their trough. The hostel owner gave each of us 2 farm fresh eggs!!! MMM.

Then we were in for a treat as the men were driving up to the top of one of the mountains on their land to drive the sheep up there down the mountain. So we hopped into the back of the ute (truck) and held on to the metal railing. We stopped and picked up another guy and 7 sheepdogs. So there were 4 of us holding on in the back and 7 dogs. It was such an amazing experience. Parts of the drive we were driving up really steep parts that if I wasn’t hanging on I would have fallen off.

At the top all the men hopped off with all the dogs and they would be herding up all the sheep. It was neat to see!! They were yelling out commands to the dogs like i’ve seen them do at the Stampede. We stayed in the back of the ute and drove back down. I was able to snap a few pictures but not many.

Back at the house we got to milk Daisy the cow. She didn’t have much milk in her but I got a few squirts out haha. I don’t like milking cows I’ve decided haha. Yuckly feeling and I didn’t know you had to pull so hard!!

Took our eggs back to our place and changed and then hopped into the car. Drove up to Fletchers bay first which is the very north tip of the Coromandel peninsula. We parked the car and did part of the Cormandel walkway before we decided it was too hot and we were too tired to do the whole thing. So we turned back and ate our lunch in the car on the beach.

We drove back out to the main road and then to Port Charles on the other side of the peninsula. The Coromandel walkway is in between Fletchers bay and Port charles as there is no road between the two. You can drive all the way to Stony Bay which we did but it was a really rough road! But our little bluebird car made it.

Back to the farm quite late, made dinner and another fire. Great day!!! I can honestly say now that I’ve seen more of New Zealand then most tourists.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The uteThe ute
The ute

I held on to the metal bars on the back there


2nd October 2009

words words words...
Hey, where are the photos????? I want to see those hunky rugby players......and baby lamb, you know all the wild life!
3rd October 2009

I put up a few pics on the all blacks game now. I finally have some good enough internet. I've been in the wop wops so internet is too slow to upload pics. I will upload some videos too when I get a chance!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb