A Canadian in New Zealand - Day 15 and16- Coromandel, Whangapoua Beach, New Chum Beach, Kuaotuna Beach, Hahei Beach, and Cathedral Cove


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On Day 15 left Warkworth to drive to Coromandel Town in the Coromandel Peninsula. The roads in the peninsula were again challenging with long and winding coastal roads followed by long and winding mountain stretches. Was happy to park my car that night. Although I arrived mid-afternoon, decided to rest the remainder of the day and continue tomorrow. I did, however, get some good scenic shots as I was going up. Lovely scenery. On Day 16 I was in over-drive. I woke early and was on the road at 730 AM as I wanted to tackle New Chum Beach at low tide. It requires a 30 minute hike, with some scrambling over rocks and beach. To get there I visited Whangapoua Beach which is a lovely beach in and of itself. It is, however, also the start point of the New Chum trail leading to New Chum Beach. After crossing an estuary (not bad given it was low tide), there is a 30 minute hike to New Chum Beach which is so so secluded. I was the only person on the beach. It has been voted as one of the top 20 beaches in the world; I suspect partly because of its seclusion. If you want a latte or ice cream (or a toilet for that matter) this is not the beach to be at. I walked the length of the beach which was maybe 700 metres. A lovely sandy beach. Following this, off to Cathedral Cove; one of the most popular activities in the Coromandel. En route a beach of opportunity popped up - Kuaotuna Beach. I had to stop and walk around. Cathedral Cove entails a 45 minute hike along a well-groomed trail and culminates in a lovely beach. At the beach there is a rock arch, which you can walk through, to get to another sandy beach on the other side. The arch connects Cathedral Cove to Mares Leg Cove (no idea). A wonderful outing to cross under the arch and beach hop. I was there just after high tide so had to rush from beach to beach as the waves were still running freely. I was wet up to the waist but worth the trip. So a great day, weather perfect, walked along five different beaches and two extraordinary hikes. Probably the best day yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

RoadsRoads
Roads

Love these NZ roads!
Estuary at Wangapoua BeachEstuary at Wangapoua Beach
Estuary at Wangapoua Beach

Cross this to New Chums Beach


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb