On the Road Again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
October 6th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

CautionCautionCaution

Coolest wet floor sign ever.
Last Friday was my last day at the Apata pack house and Thursday I will be leaving Tauranga with Anne, a Malaysian girl at the hostel who was also working at Apata and is looking to get to Wellington. We’re going to head up north to the Hot Water Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula first, before going to Lake Taupo. I thought it would be a good idea to do it now as I’m not sure if I’ll be on the eastern side of the North Island again, though the timing may be a little unfortunate as it will still be part of school holidays for the kids here so we may find the beach a little crowded when we get there.

We had a barbeque this past weekend as an early farewell for me and Anne, the weather was great and it was one of the few good days that the others were able to get off work. We bought so much that we were able to have dinner with the leftovers the next day too. The day following that we got together again and had an authentic French meal of crepes with cheese, ham, eggs, and SALMON(the first
Ogo1Ogo1Ogo1

This is Ogo my representation of the Ogopogo. We use those blue clips on a new type of bag to keep the kiwi fruit fresh for longer, this is what happens when it's slow.
time I’ve had it since Easter at Nitinat). For desert we threw a bit of ice cream, cooked apple slices, and chocolate hazelnut paste in them. The whole thing was organized by Aud (pronounced ‘Ode’) a girl from France who arrived at the hostel a few days ago.

I decided to bleach my hair in celebration of finishing work and getting back on the road. I was thinking about dyeing it something crazy like green or blue, but a couple of girls at the hostel said that if I went green that I’d look like head of broccoli and if I went blue then I’d be a Smurf. In any case, I’ve decided to leave it at the moment, but a pack of cool-aid can change that pretty quick!

It's sad to be leaving friends that I've spent months with behind, but I guess that's what traveling is all about. I'll keep in contact with them and may even see them again in my travels.

I’ll update again when we get to Hot Water Beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Aude with HarmonicaAude with Harmonica
Aude with Harmonica

For not knowing how to play, she's very good!
Who Am I?Who Am I?
Who Am I?

We started playing this game after the BBQ, it's kind of difficult when the categories can be anyone real or not.
Crepes!1Crepes!1
Crepes!1

Cooking crepes can probably be done by 1 person, but we had 5! (didn't get a picture of all 5 of us though)
Crepes!2Crepes!2
Crepes!2

In the pan...
Crepes!3Crepes!3
Crepes!3

With toppings!


6th October 2010

Good on Ya
Happy to see that you are having a great time Eric, keep going. Uncle Syd

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb