Last of NZ


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well my time in NZ is almost complete. I'm flyingo over to Santiago de Chile later this afternoon. I've spent my last while in Northland (area north of Auckland) and theres some beautiful places up there too. After my Woofing in Piha i headed to Pahia and Bay of Islands area. Pahia is a pretty touristy area, popular with Kiwis. I visied the Waitaingi Treaty Grounds from here where the Maori Chiefs signed the 1840 Treaty. There's a lovley Marae here with amazing Maori carvings inside. Spent a few days about here and took a ferry across the bay to Russel for a day.

After here i went North to Ahipara, just at end of 90 mile beach. This was one of my favourite places in NZ. Stayed in a great hostel, The Endless Summer Lodge, with Anna & Blaine - great hosts! The hostel was right across the road from the beach and 2 minutes drive to Shipwreck Bay - a great surfing spot. I spent most of my time surfing and chilling here and the weather was great too - really living up to its name as the Winterless North! Went on a day trip from here with an Irish guy i met up to Cape Reinga - Northern point of NZ. It was really beautiful up here and got a great view of Tasman Sea and Pacific Ocean colliding from the lighthouse. . Bit of a fuuny story involving a policeman on 90 mile beach too. TJ was mucking about in his car on the beach when a police jeep appeared. This cop was really laid back - didnt even get out of his jeep. Cop "G'day, your're not 15 are you?". TJ " No, i'll show you my license" Cop " Then why are you acting like a 15 yr. old". Priceless line. He just told us the beach was subject to same rules as the road etc. Did a bit of sandboarding at some dunes on the way back. Tough work going up but good fun on way down. Oh also became very good at a game called Horse Shoes during my stay here.

After Ahipara i drove down the Kauri Coast (west) to Whangarei stopping en route at a few massive Kauri trees. I think they're second biggest after the sequoia. In Whangarie paid a vist to Zion Lion Wildlife Park. This place had 42 cats in total - lions, cheetahs, tigers. I loved the white bengal tigers - amazing animals. It was pretty bizaar but saw a few days ago on tv that one of the keepers had been mauled to death by a lion - turned out to be the same guy who gave us the tour.

I had hoped to do a few dives at the Poor Knights Islands but the seas were too rought while i was around so had to give it a miss. I've spent the last week or so in Auckland mainly trying to sell my van. Luckily i sold it yesterday to some Kiwi guy who got a real bargain - i hope it keeps running for him! Met up with an Auckland coupe i met in Asia for some drinks and they brought me round to their place for a lovley dinner too!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb