A Christmas Party Picnic


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
December 5th 2005
Published: December 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me in the Meeting HouseMe in the Meeting HouseMe in the Meeting House

I found these carvings so cool, maybe because they mostly all have their tongues sticking out?
Yesterday my bosses Tom and Julia took us out for a picnic and an afternoon of relaxation on what they call Turtle Island. I snorkelled and saw a couple fishies and a pretty decent sized Grouper just off shore in the rocks and seaweed beds. Boy, it takes some getting used to when you go in the ocean here because it's only about 20. Still pretty cold in my books, but you warm up if you keep moving. I finally got my birthday mail today! Thanks Mom, Dad, Nicole and Aunt Ena and Uncle John for the nice cards! I had to go to my room because I know I would get upset especially since Nicole and I write sappy sister poems in the cards we send. Turns out my eyes were like taps at the nice cards and words that were written in them.

I also wanted to include some more pictures that I took from Whantangei, since I had such an enjoyable time. The carvings are just so cool!!!!! Maybe I was Maori in a previous life??? Plus, my bed is finally made in the back of the van, so I'm planning on going up to the northern
Interior of the Meeting HouseInterior of the Meeting HouseInterior of the Meeting House

Sorry it's so dark, maybe just lighten your screen settings and you can see all the flax weavings and all the carved pieces also.
most tip, Cape Reinga, where the two oceans meet to do some camping. I'm quite excited to get away for even just one day.

For all those movie buffs, it turns out the Plant Nursery that I'm working at sent Ferns to Peter Jackson and his film company (I think Wingnut) for some jungle scenes in King Kong! Pretty wicked eh???

And especially for Jess in Seattle, Keith Urban was born in Whangarei (where I spent a night a couple of weekends ago and a hours drive south of here). I hear he's engaged to Nicole Kidman though. (*pout*)

I also was reading that Canada is having a federal election. I want to participate, but I may not be close to Wellywood (Wellington) to vote. I only presume I can vote at the Consulate, which is too bad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The War CanoeThe War Canoe
The War Canoe

Launched every anniversary of the treaty's signing holds over 100 people
Turtle IslandTurtle Island
Turtle Island

The nice beach we had our Christmas Picnic on.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb