the life intended...up and away


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
November 23rd 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post


Flights - When I flew the first time I flew Singapore Airlines. Fantastic. Pure luxury to me. Really posh. The food was amazing - all eastern spicey food, curried dressed crab for breakfast. I didn’t know how to eat it, and to be honest I didn’t like it, it was too hot for me; I was used to typically British food porridge - meat and two veg or fish and chips as a treat. But I loved watching others enjoy their food, eating with their fingers, having what I thought was the pudding before the dinner. I was fascinated. If I’d done either of those things at home I’d have been told off. And the air hostesses were so beautiful; elegant and serene. Quite the opposite of me. So attentive, so gentle; offering hospitality and nurture; like fluffing my pillow when I went to the loo, and covering me up when I dozed.

This time I’m flying Air NZ despite being prompted to write an article called 10 reasons not to fly Air NZ last time I flew with them. This was inspired by the fact that amongst other things the Captain didn’t seem to know where he was flying to. His announcement of “Welcome back on the second leg of our journey to Kuala Lumpar, flight time 6hrs etc etc…” was not appreciated as we were in fact flying from Fiji to UK. We wouldn’t have minded if he was having a laugh but he was deadly serious. Also, my vegi meal had definite signs of bacon in it. Not that I didn’t eat and enjoy it, but .. So why am I flying Air NZ again? Two reasons. I always give something a second chance - and more importantly it was only £611!!! Wow how good is that. Less than half price than the first time. I could have flown from Manchester for only £75 more with Singapore Airlines, but it was a morning flight, and I have figured it out that if I can keep as much to my sleep routine as poss then I don’t suffer jet lag. So it is worth me trekking to Heathrow to catch the Air NZ night flight. It has been a pain sorting out getting to H.Row, though that is down to me and my search for greener pastures. When I booked the flight back in August I looked on the internet for flights from Mancs. to H.Row. BA did one for £26 including taxes which would have got me there in good time. The flight was actually free, it was the taxes that cost £26!
I could have booked it there and then but did I? Oh no, I chose to have a look around for better priced flight. Get real - How much cheaper than free can you get! So now 2 months later I am going down on the train for - wait for it £54. Suppose that backs up my new found realisation that if its good for you at the time - go for it!

Am I sounding somewhat righteous here? Sorry, if so someone bring me back to earth will you. Ta.



Another difference is occuring: Going away party the first time - 2 in fact. One from my reasonably large family (notice I don’t put large reasonable family) and a mega send off with my mates. We hired the Sundowner nightclub in Southport and boogied till half two the morning I was leaving. It was free to hire including a hot pot supper in the hope they’d make money on the bar, but as we were mostly churchy, scouty tea totallers, they weren’t too chuffed. Loads of cards and kisses and a raving send off. Nowadays I couldn’t cope with it. I’m looking forward to a lovely meal with two of the kindest new friends I have and a lift to Ruabon station (Thanks Jude & Di).

Travelling was different then though - especially for females. The big OE as its known down under (Overseas Experience) was something middle-class male graduates did, not a working class lass from Lancashire. I remember the local paper did a piece on my travels. It was on the front page as if it was something newsworthy. I got Bon Voyage cards from people I never knew, some with a fiver in. So I set off pretty rich for those days with about £250 in my pocket. People would send me tips about travelling: Don’t drink the water; don’t eat any sea food; don’t talk to strange men (now there’s one I should’ve listened too) Put your pounds in your pants - I think they were still notes then. (ooh, a memory of another kind just came to mind; I once let a £20 note flush down the loo cos of this tip. I’d been working a bar one Xmas day and a chappy gave me a £20 tip. The boss didn’t like us having tips, so I stuck it in my nicks, forgetting some 4 hours later when I got the chance to nip the loo; downed nicks…flushed and watched as the queens head went round the bend!

Nowadays travel is so open to all and despite the reported dangers in the world still seems worth taking the risks, not that I took that many the first time. I’ve noticed a web site called couchsurfers.com which is a network of people offering their sofas for travellers to sleep on, and a kiwi notice board where travellers can connect and travel together - complete strangers. 20 yrs ago I would have thought how exciting, now…no so sure - so must try it and see. Feel the fear and do it anyway (good book). But for my first trip I was collected at Singapore airport (stop over included in the price) and taken to a posh hotel. I had a suite to myself - I think they thought I was royalty or something. The bathroom was massive, and the bath carpeted - on the outside of course! It was like something out of the King and I.

I was amazed by Singapore. Totally different than anything I’d ever experienced. The air was humid, difficult to breathe in; the freshness of the huge exotic flowers after the rains which fell promptly at 7pm each evening for a couple of minutes only; Clean city streets; Itchy aromas of outdoor food markets; Rich vivid colours, silk clothes; the people - always smiling, even the little Police man who stopped me as I walked across the road to tell me Jay walking was an arrestable offence.

Of course there was another side to Singapore, men being men, but that’s another story. Suffice to say it was hard work shifting the chest of drawers across my room door both nights. Also even back then there was trouble with drugs. I went on a day trip to Malaysia and just over the border ourcoach was stopped by armed Police who ransacked our belongings looking for something or other. Quite scary that was, but no so much as when, after reboarding the plane for the 2nd leg of the journey we made an unexpected stop in Dubai. Now that was scary. We were hustled off the plane, half asleep to be greeted by big black armed soldiers (calm down Sue), who silently directed us - with gun prodding, into a dark area. Spotlights then came on and I was dazzled and puzzled at the sight it revealed. We were surrounded in this cage by armed gorillas - and piles and piles of gold bullion! Then one of the armed gorillas stamped his foot and once he had our attention he opened up a huge black leather brief case which was stuffed with gold jewellery. I thought he was demanding our jewellery, but it turns out he was selling contraband - very cheap too I later learned. The Americans amongst us took advantage and bagged bargains.

No chance of such adventure this time - a direct 26 hour flight. Lets hope the movies are good.


Advertisement



23rd November 2006

err title eh?,.,,,
Lancashire! Its meryside! u dont have to be proud, but be honest, then again, i guess back in your day it was lancashire! By the time im reading this(12.11 on i think its thursday now) you will be in the air somewhere or maybe in another cage full of gold, if so, pick me up some gift or 2 :D (thats a smile btw (btw = by the way, btw)) ok now thats getting out of hand! If your gonna turn this into a book, ur headin the right way, its getiing longer every time! its pouring down here hope its better over there, try and get on msn if you can, i do have a webcam.... somewhere! Had a good Tom's birthday thing, stole ur cake idea, thanks for that :D twas very sweet (in more ways than one) u know i thik im getting addicted to doing () pity u cant comment back actually! u should get urself a myspace! easy to do, visit www.myspace.com! clever lil things! not that this place isnt good, but u can talk to me on it then, and time difference dont care! Pity about the 20, inflation and all would of made u a mint :) Well i hope u have a great time over there and i hope to see you soon. adam *lip quivers* if u do *action* it means ur doing the action see? getting the hang of the internet!?

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb