Leaving on a jet plane again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
May 12th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Airbus to airport
Chance meeting with the Swiss girls
Waiting for the plane.

Doh! Got back last night and was ready to unpack and wash up before bed. Wait a second, where's my toothbrush? Oh no...don't tell me when I was packing in the dark yesterday morning I missed my black toiletry bag on the floor. By some strange luck I had downsized my toiletry bag a few days ago so I was only missing a few essentials like my toothbrush, toothpaste (it was from India and wasn't quite the Colgate that I'm used to at home so it wasn't that big of a loss and it did cost me less than $1.), my contacts (but I was due to change them next week anyway), deoderant (thank goodness it is not hot and sticky out today! lol) and nail clippers. The biggest loss would have to be my little NZ/Australia adaptor plug! Oh well, Just thankful I have my four most prized possessions...money, tickets, passport and camera still.

With my last dollars I've been able to acquire another adaptor plug but it is a lot larger than the one I lost...those extra 50g will weigh me down. haha BTW, my pack weighed in at 18.2 kg. Mind you my carry-on bag is next to nothing at the moment so I think I'm doing well.

So I walked across the street from the hostel to catch the Airbus to the Auckland International Airport. I almost lost my balance stepping up onto the bus but luckily caught myself before making an ass of myself. The bus driver had no personality and didn't even utter a word to me. So basically I just shoved my money towards him, picked up my receipt and dropped my bag on the shelf before making my way to an empty seat. That's when I hear..."Bonnie!" I look up and it's the two Swiss girls Priya and Claudia that I had briefly met back in Taupo. What a coincidence. It was nice to hear they enjoyed their brief time on the South Island and were excited about heading to Honolulu for a couple of days for some camping in Northern Oahu. So we hung out a bit before having to go to our respective gates.

We wandered through a few shops looking to see what I could buy with the $5.60NZ I had left in my pocket. Didn't find much. Claudia was kind enough to give me their last two dollars in change. We parted ways once again. After wandering around a bit I came across some adaptors at one of the bookshops and spent my last dollars on a replacement adaptor. Just my luck too because it was on sale! Bonus!

It was a nice short flight to Sydney. Nothing too eventful happened. Sort of watched "Coach Carter" with Samuel L. Jackson. He was playing a hardass basketball coach. I think they've made too many of these types of movies so I didn't really pay all that much attention. For lunch I had the beef Calzone (more like a Pilsbury Pizza pocket if you ask me) since they had run out of the chicken salad by the time they got to our row. Then I read a bit and of course snoozed a bit as well.

Upon landing it was pretty quick going through customs. I was able to bring in my trail mix after only a few questions:

Customs Officer: So those are raisins and?
Bonnie: Peanuts and chocolate.
CO: Where'd you buy this?
Bonnie: New Zealand.
He looks at the trail mix some more and then tells me to proceed and exit...didn't even have to put my stuff through the x-ray.

Then it was off to the train. A nice short 10 minute ride to Central Station. I got myself booked into a hostel nearby and once I was settled in and had a little chat with the Irish girl across from me I started off on a mission to find myself a new toothbrush at a reasonable price. But I guess at this point money shouldn't matter since I don't think brushing my teeth with my finger is such a good thing. lol I read somewhere that there are a couple of supermarkets nearby so I set my sights on the Woolworths and started there.

So basically it was a seven block walk up George Street. Lots of Asians everywhere. Lots of slow walkers getting in my way as well. Lots of eateries and fast food joints along the way. (Hungry Jack = Burger King and Maccers = Mc Donalds..a "family dining" restaurant). Lots of souvenirs being hawked. Lots of chemists shops. Lots of internet places. Lots of lots of stuff! I'm in a big city again. I think the population of Sydney is about 4 million. A few more days to explore Sydney and then I'm off to check out Australia's East Coast. Well, I have to sort out the whole bus thing tomorrow and then I'll be set. I figure whatever I don't see in Sydney the next few days I'll have a chance to check out at the end of my trip here in Aussie...in a couple of months. So exciting being in new places. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb