End of Summer


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 12th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

With the travelling bug in my system and the reality that perhaps I need to get a job I decided...why don't I do a road trip down to Christchurch with the aim of finding work on the south island. Such a good plan. And then to top it all Mr Kevin's flight out of NZ was from Christchurch too....so a road trip we planned!

With one week left in Auckland we had to make the most of it!

First up St Patrick's Day. With the great intentions of going to see U2 on St Patrick's Day (yes I was lucky enough to get tickets) I was devastated to find out that it was cancelled....to be rescheduled later in the year :-(

So, some friends of Kev's invited us around to a very nice apartment for some beverages. Once again one thing led to another and Singstar became the night's entertainment! Now those of you who know me well (or unfortunate to ever be sitting next to me at work)....will definately know that i'm vocally challenged when it comes to singing. But I had fun!

The next day...after a lazy start...we headed into Auckland City to meet up
MatthiasMatthiasMatthias

Just too hot...End of Summer Party
with Matthias and Helen (fellow Stray mates). Well it was a quiet night all round...seems everyone had a good St Patrick's night! After catching up on masses of gossip I said farewell and so long to Helen (one day we shall meet again!).

On Sunday we (Me, Kev and Matthias) headed out to Grey Lynn Park for the End of Summer Party. It's amazing they have so many outdoor music festivals...and all for free! So we enjoyed the sunshine, the boys had a few cheeky beers (muggins was driving) and chilled out to the music. Got to see Fat Freddy's Drop (Kiwi band) live so I was a happy bunny! A good day...but a very, very hot day.

With one day to go...I decided I better go up the Sky Tower. How can I possibly be in Auckland and never ventured up the Tower. So I made the most of a sunny clear day and headed up the 328m high tower (supposedly the highest structure in the southern hemisphere...but i'm sure the aussies will disagree!). Anyway, the views are pretty spectacular and now that I'm pretty familiar with the City I could spot all the local landmarks. Even
Sky TowerSky TowerSky Tower

Early Evening
had the pleasure of watching some idiot do the Sky Tower Vertical Jump (head first...just silly!).

So, it's farwell to Auckland for a while and on with the next adventure......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb