Touching Ground in Auckland, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 8th 2012
Published: April 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Travels


Auckland Auckland Auckland

The view from the sky tower
I literally cried for hours on the plane. I think it just hit me all at once. I was leaving behind both my parents; two people who had just finalized a divorce and were probably going through one of the worst times in each of their lives. My younger brother Ryan; a kid who has so much passion and love for this world, but doesn't know what to do with it all. I said goodbye to a man who I was with for 3 years, living with, and who most thought I was destined to marry. I left Melissa, Mollie, Michele, Cristina, Karen, Jeff, Adam, and Danny; the best friends a girl could ever ask for. I gave up a year of watching the three best kids in the world, grow and learn and mature. And lastly, I gave up the life of knowing. Knowing what is acceptable and what isnt, what you can get away with and what you can't. I was comfortable in my life; but maybe a little too comfortable. It was necessary that I leave the comfort of my own world and dive straight into someone else's. I needed to learn the world on my own without
Waiheke IslandWaiheke IslandWaiheke Island

Went on a wine tour and then drank all our wine on the beach with two Maoris
the help of my parents, teachers, or the media. I have had this yearning of wanderlust since college and I knew if I never "did it", I would always regret and resent my life and anyone or thing in it.

So after almost 24 hours of flying, I landed in Auckland, NZ. Auckland reminds me of NYC but about 1/16 the size. It has large buildings, a diverse group of people, all the hustle and bustle that the city has, and people singing or playing the guitar on every corner.

My first roommates were three guys (shout out to Andre, Habeeb, and Soren). I had an Australian in the bunk above me, and a German and Nigerian in the two beds next to me. They were cool as. I spent my first few days and nights with them; sightseeing, getting drunk, climbing to the top of the sky tower, playing drunk twister,and teaching them what a badonkadonk was. Then I met Christie. Oh Christie. I think the morning I met her was after playing drunk twister, in a very classy bar called Globe Bar, the night before. I walked in to an orientation completely hungover with no makeup
Road TripRoad TripRoad Trip

Rented a car and planned on going to Rotorua, Taupo, and the Waitomo Caves. Only made it to Rotorua and Taupo.
on and a hat, wishing no one would ever talk to me or most importantly remember seeing me. But Christie from Canada came up and introduced herself. She was able to get over the state I was in, and asked me out for coffee. And it took just coffee to realize we were friend soul mates.

This next segment is something I would like to call "Top 5 Things Christie and Heather did in Auckland that would scare their parents"

1. Saw a wet tshirt contest where the tshirts didn't stay on for long

2. Went to an island and drank three bottles of wine with a German guy (hey Max) and two Maoris

3. Went to Globe Bar

4. Rented a car and drove a half a mile on the wrong side of the rode unknowingly

5. Almost lost a solider with the hood of the rental car. (Christie still doesn't think this is funny)



So because of our new found love, I followed Christie to Nelson and started the best journey of my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Almost diedAlmost died
Almost died

The reason we never made it to the Caves.


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb