Still in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 25th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

As seen inside a Marae..As seen inside a Marae..As seen inside a Marae..

at the Auckland Museum.
Walkabout Auckland
Cruised around Auckland Domain
Auckland Museum

Yesterday I had a another lazy start. I can't believe that I slept in til 10AM! I decided that I should get unlazy and after making something for breakfast I decided I should enjoy the good weather and walk over to Auckland Domain...lots of green space! I walked by the duck pond, Winter Gardens and stopped off at the Auckland Museum. Quite interesting! I learned a lot about the Maori and the history of Auckland. They had a special exhibit for ANZAC (Australian New Zealand Army Corps) on the Gallipoli campaign. It was quite interesting to read some of the personal accounts that were displayed. I was in the museum for at least two hours which could explain why I was not all that interested in the third floor and all of the "war" stuff...

Then I walked around the Domain some more looking for some of the sculptures that are supposed to be displayed around the park. It started to get pretty chilly and windy out so I decided to head back to the hostel before I froze!

I made a stop off at the nearby Asian Supermarket I
Victoria Park MarketVictoria Park MarketVictoria Park Market

That\'s the Sky Tower in the background.
came across yesterday to pick up some more yoghurt. I think I'm addicted! Guess it is a case of not having it for so long that I now can't get enough of it. Unfortunately the Asian Supermarket does not carry peanut butter. Now that's one thing that I'm really craving at the moment! lol

When I got back to the hostel I bumped into Alicia in the kitchen area where we chatted and snacked for a few hours! I helped her to plan out some of her upcoming California and New York City trip. She'll be there for about 9 weeks.

Then the rest of the evening was pretty quiet. I basically tried to reorganize my stuff in anticipation of moving on in a couple of days. It is amazing how many travel brochures one can accumulate! Instead of tossing them I decided to put them back in the travel area at the hostel even though some of them did not come from there. 😊 I figured someone could find it useful!

Anzac Day today
A big day to remember
World Peace. No more war!

Chilly, windy day
At least it's nice and sunny
Victoria Square

I can't believe that I had another lazy morning! I must be getting used to having 10 hour sleeps or something. lol Not a good thing since I need to be up and ready early tomorrow morning as I start touring around the North Island! I will have to set two alarms or something. lol

Today was not all that exciting but seeing as I'm in Auckland I might as well take advantage and see some of it. So after rolling out of bed and having breakfast I decided to take a walk to the Victoria Street Market. Just a regular market where you can buy souvenirs and such of New Zealand. Most things were pretty pricey so I did a lot of browsing! Okay, I did pick up one badge to sew onto my camp blanket but that was about it. After the market I continued my walk to the Harbour to check out some of the boats. To be honest, not too exciting!

Oh and then I pulled out a calendar earlier today and realized that I will only have six weeks, not seven like I had thought in Europe! DOH! So much for me being able to count. Or in this case, not count! So I have a bit of planning to do in that regard...that being said, I should end here and start surfing the net...

Hugs and stuff,
Bonz



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb