Day 9


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, my first day in Auckland.

It's lovely weather here. It's still really hot and I feel like I'm tanning by the second. However, it's a lot cooler and there's a lot more breeze than Australia. This is my idea of perfect weather. Blue skies too which are my favourite... The reason that I will tan so fast is because of the massive great hole in the ozone layer. I was having a discussion with an Australian as to how on earth Australia and NZ managed to get the hole, why them? Surely it would be somewhere like America if it was due to mass consumption of ANYTHING.

I'm just uploading some photos onto Flickr, I'll post the link at the end of the blog.

As I'm getting bored of cities, I decided to take a ferry to Devonport, which is a sort of suburb of Auckland. It was lovely, very quaint and quiet. Although having said that, the hostel I'm in is right off the main street and there's barely anyone given that it's the NZ equivalent of Oxford Street. This country only has 4.5 million people in it... London has 9 million. People are really friendly here though, which is so refreshing. They were in Australia too. It's a lot cheaper here than in Australia - exactly half the price. Auckland feels a lot less like a city than Sydney did. Apart from right in the centre, most of the houses are bungalows... maximum two storeys.

Last night I went out for drinks with one of my new hostel room-mates, a Finnish man called Lorry. That's not how you spell it probably, but that's how you say it. There are two other guys in my room, an American called Art and a French guy who doesn't speak but simply lies in bed watching DVDs and sleeping. I only know he's French because Lorry told me. I'm not super happy about sharing a room with BOYS but it's actually not that bad. They don't fart or snore as far as I'm aware. The girls used to talk in their sleep a LOT, it was almost running conversation between the 6 of us. I'm not particularly worried about getting sexually assaulted by any of the guys either because I'm on a top bunk, and it's a long way up. I'm not sure anyone could be bothered. All it means is that I have to go and get changed and dressed in the bathroom, but that's fine. The ONLY downside is that they all sleep in just their boxers. I don't know where to look. How would they feel if I slept in just a bra and pants? Rhetorical question.

Today I booked myself onto a bus that will take me to the Bay of Islands. It looks absolutely beautiful, and I get to go sea-kayaking and swimming there. And probably many other things. I'll spend a week, then get back from there in time for a flight to London on the 8th February. I'll be in London probably for about a week, then head back out to New Zealand. All for a silly UCL interview. That means that I'll push my whole holiday back about a week, possibly a week and a half.

The photos I've uploaded are all from the first few days in Sydney, if this method works well then I'll use it for more recent photos too. Here we go!!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/47011376@N07/

Advertisement



29th January 2010

your face...
....must be WELL tanned. well done about UCL, sorry they are wankers about you coming back. just want to thank you for writing this blog because it distracts me from the boredom of having to chill in bed and do nothing (cos i broke my arm and fractured my pelvis in a ski fall last sat...) it's (your blog that is) hilarious and makes me happy. i hope the rest of your trip is wonderful!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb