arrived auckland-bought car at backpackers car market, auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well arrived in Auckland after what I can say was a great flight with Singapore Airlines. Staff were great and even the food wasn’t to bad and the time flew by after watching 7 films.

Got settled into the ACB hostel which is clean and tidy enough, lots of rooms so didn’t feel as intimate as others I have stayed in but after the flight I wasn’t feeling particularly social able anyway.

So straight into it, no time for sight seeing, needed to get myself a set of wheels. I headed to the Backpackers Car Market which had been recommended to me by a friend/Tom from back home. He said the Car Market had a lot of choice and was an easy place to buy…..and he was right! Considering I’m planning to stay for a year I decided the best thing to do was go for something a bit bigger. Fortunately the Car Market was full of Toyota Hiace’s at the time, which had also been recommended and the sort of size I was looking for. I eventually decided on a beautiful classic 1988 with a yellow paint job, which I bought off Matt and Rees from Wales of all places. I got it checked at the Car Market and there was a couple of things to be done as expected from a classic but in general she’s pretty good. So all sorted, pretty easy really.

http://www.backpackerscarmarket.co.nz/

After a successful morning Van shopping I decided I better do the tourist thing and go up the sky tower. The view is pretty special and lunch is not half bad either. If you go for lunch you just pay for a buffet lunch and get up free, where as if you just want to go up then you have to pay nearly as much as the lunch. So with me and my appetite it was a no brainer.

Heading straight out of Auckland to whangerei (fungerey) and then onto the Bay of Islands…what’s the point of staying in Cities in NZ!


Advertisement



19th September 2008

me too
i also bought a van and sold a van here i thought the service was great, i would recommend their services to anyone looking for a cheap van or car in auckland. a++

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb