Auckland Half Ironman


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 5th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Preparing for StartPreparing for StartPreparing for Start

Getting ready to start

Auckland Half Ironman 5th April 2008



I didn't really have to travel too far for this event just one hour from my home. I had been training specifically for this event since the beginning of the year. I completed the Rotorua Half Ironman in December and enjoyed the event. I didn't do the full Taupo Ironman so wanted to do the same distance again with the aim of improving my time.

I had Friday off work as I needed to recover from my friends wedding on Thursday night, register for the event and do my final training session. I got up Friday changed my tires and headed off to register which was pretty uneventful. Then it was down to the beach for my final session, a short swim, bike and run. I wasn't feeling particularly good. I got in the water but didn't last long in the swell and it was hard work. Then it was onto the bike not feeling good until I turned around and had a tail wind. My 10 minute run seemed to take forever but I completed. I finished off with some stretching to try and ease the tightness in my legs and my
The StartThe StartThe Start

The race has begun
sore little niggles. I got back in the car and was looking through my race pack and found a voucher for $30 off a massage. Once home I called and made an appointment for later in the day. After having my massage I was feeling much more relaxed and ready to go. It was an early night for me.

I was up at 5:30am for breakfast and to ensure everything was organised and ready. It was toast with banana for breakfast and out the door by just after six with husband Gary to pick up Adele (friend who knew what I was going through as she completed the Rotorua half with me). We arrived at Maratei just after 7am, it was still dark but I had to get everything to transition and had in my T2 bag with my running gear (as the bike finished in a different place to where we started). I was feeling pretty relaxed and not as grumpy as the previous day. My parents arrived and I also met up with another friend Anabelle who did Rotorua that was here supporting.

I listened to race briefing then it was straight into the water to get ready for the start. My short swim to the start didn't leave me feeling very confident as my right arm was feeling a little sore. I hoped I would forget about this and it wouldn't cause me any issues for the 2km swim.

The Start - 2km Swim


For the start I was standing about ankle deep in the water 2nd from the front line with mainly guys in front of me. We had a minute of silence for the 2006 women's champion Kristy Gough who was killed just over two weeks ago while out training on her bike with a large group. A car crossed the centre line and went into the group head-on killing two of the cyclists instantly.

We were given 30s to go and I cleared my goggles and waited for the start. Then the siren went, I got a bit of a slow start as I wanted to time myself for the race so was busy starting my stopwatch. The start of the swim was crazy with arms, feet and bodies going everywhere. At one stage I looked up and there was a foot coming right for my face - not a
T1T1T1

Transition
good start. By the first bouy the bunch had spread out and I was able to swim at my own pace and stay out of trouble. The swim was two laps and we had to get out of the water between the laps which I didn't really like but I survived. I finished the swim in a time of 28 minutes and while in transition was advised by my trustee supporter Adele that I was 4th women out of the water. Great start.

First Transition


I was able to get my wetsuit off without any problems and on with all my cycling gear. I had to be a bit careful not to rush too much as I always feel a little light headed after coming out of the water. I could hear and see my supporters which was great. Onto the bike...

The Cycle - 90km Maratei to Kaiaua and back to Kawakawa Bay


I got onto the bike and started down the road. I was feeling thirsty so thought I'd better start off with a drink. As I went to put my bottle back in the bottle cage I managed to miss and drop it on the
Snake HillSnake HillSnake Hill

Climbing Snake Hill
road nearly taking out the cyclist behind me. Not a good start again.

I was feeling happy enough on the bike with lots of people passing me as I expected. Sadly my cycling is not up to the same standard as my swimming. I was feeling a little cold on the bike as I was still wet from the swim but wasn't too concerned as I knew I would dry off and warm up pretty quickly especially if the sun came out in full force. The first 30 km was just undulating through Clevedon and onto Kawakawa bay. Gary and Adele passed me in the car and shouted support while also taking photos. They stopped and waited for me again to chear me on. I told Adele I would need two bottles at the top of snake hill, but didn't have time to explain why. Mum and Dad also came past in the car shouting out the windows. The four of them met up in Kawakawa Bay leaving one car there and cheering as I went past. At this stage I knew snake hill was coming so it was time for a gu to get me up the hill. At the bottom of the hill I was again passed. I didn't want to push up the hill too hard so I just dropped down to my easiest gear and tried to spin my way up the hill. Just before the top there was my support crew shouting at me to keep it going I shouted that I was coming and so did the other supporters I was passing. Adele was ready with my drinks, I stopped and was loaded up. I gave her my empty bottle and was off with a great push to get me going. I rounded the top of the hill and there was Anabelle with jelly snakes at the top of snake hill, she handed me one by I didn't manage to hold onto it. Oh well...

Yay it was time to go down the hill... for the rest of the ride it was great to have the support of my friends and family. Each time they drove past Gary was standing out of the sunroof taking photos and Adele was shouting out the window. I knew that once I got to the coast it was still a way to go before the turn around so I made sure I didn't get too excited thinking I was nearly there. After the turnaround I had a tailwind which was great. Back into the hills and the end is in sight. I was beginning to feel tired and was beginning to think of the run I had ahead. I finished the cycle in a time of 3hours 35 minutes which was about 15 minutes faster than Rotorua.

Transition 2


I came into transition and was handed my T2 bag with my running gear. Off came the cycle gear and on went the running shoes etc. Onto to the run it was but not before a toilet stop.


The Run - 21km


As I was beginning the run the first men were finishing and I still had 21km to run. As I was heading out on my first lap I pasted the lead women coming back towards me. I was thinking she was about to finish but to my surprise she still had another lap to go. I was able to run the first two laps with short walks through the aid stations. Each time I was about to finish a lap there was
FinishedFinishedFinished

Finished with big smiles
my support crew cheering me on. I struggled on the third lap and walked up the small hills which felt much larger than they actually were. Once I had turned around for the final time I knew I was heading for home which was great. As the finish came into sight I had renewed motivation to keep running to the end. As I got closer to the end I knew that I had made a huge improvement on my Rotorua time. As I ran down the finishing shoot I could see Adele on the side and Mum and Dad at the end. Yay I finished in a time of 6 hours 47 minutes (32 minutes faster than Rotorua).






Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Half way through the swimHalf way through the swim
Half way through the swim

Round the wharf to begin lap 2
SupportersSupporters
Supporters

Mum & Dad Supporting
Anabelle SupportingAnabelle Supporting
Anabelle Supporting

Anabelle supporting at the top of Snake Hill
FinishedFinished
Finished

Finished standing with Mum & Dad


12th July 2008

Congratulations
Just read your blog - I am impressed all over again with this! I thought you guys were machines for doing the Wellington half in the horrible conditions we turned on. Very inspirational :-)

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb