Auckland Pitstop on Waitangi Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 6th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 102: The onward journey....from bike to bus to plane to bus to walking to car to ferry

Once again, I was up early, and with scissors and suncream removed from my hand luggage, I caught the bus to the airport for the flight to Auckland. As with most domestic departures in Australia and New Zealand, getting through the airport and onto the plane was a fairly informal affair and the subsequent flight uneventful. On arrival in Auckland, I caught another bus and then walked to the hostel.

The main reason for my return to Auckland more than a week before departure is to use it as a base to venture up to the Northland, the strip of land at the far end of the country, with rural villages, kauri forests, old harbours, and beautiful beaches aplenty. The first problem I came across when planning the trip was quite a major one, in that, being a bit off the beaten track, and a bit in the middle of nowhere, there isn't actually a public transport network serving the majority of the places I wanted to visit. I had a chat with the nice hostel people who suggested that I might have to join the only backpacker bus that ventured up into the region (apparently they're not ALL that bad), since then at least I'd get to see some nice places and not have to worry about booking beds/activities because this could all be done for me. The only other alternative if I was going to be really stubborn about it, would be the uneconomical, unenvironmentally friendly, and slightly antisocial option of renting a car and driving off into the sunset on my own.

As soon as I'd had a bit of lunch, I had my head in yellow pages, and was ringing around car rental agencies. I had no luck on the first few, but eventually got a cheap deal with a local firm (including AA cover, although how I call them I'm not entirely sure, since I don't have a mobile phone and even if I did, I doubt I'd get reception)! With most things in town closed today due to a Waitangi Day (a public holiday celebrating the anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi between Pakeha and Maori people), I spent much of the rest of the afternoon eating icecream and planning an itinery of my travels round the Northland. Travelling with a car should be great, I can get away from the backpacker buses and stop wherever I want! Having left my towel somewhere in central Otago, I did have to go on a shopping mission to get a new one (never easy when everything's shut, but I managed to get one eventually), and also picked up a South America guide ready for the upcoming onward leg.

To be honest, I'm a bit apprehensive about the whole driving thing, especially after what happened to Pimple (my old Ford Ka that met a rather unfortunate end on the M4). I'm planning on driving way below the speed limit! Leaving early tomorrow, there didn't really seem much point in unpacking today. I am looking forward to the morning though when I can just sling my backpack in the boot and then forget about it! Anyways, here's to an interesting journey (I'm just relieved that they drive on the left over here...)!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb