A doggy bag of Home


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 5th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The three short weeks were over - but I wasn't ready to go back. It wasn't that I really didn't want to be back in Japan, but as it turned out I had missed NZ way way more than I expected. Rushing round catching up with as many friends as possible, trying to go back to favourite places had made the time fly. The fact that Auckland's weather had been uncharacteristically reliably brilliant didn't do any harm to the experience either.

Spending time with family, hanging out with friends as though the past 18 months never happened - all great memories.
Seeing Pohutukawa again, and so many of them was great. Pohutukawa trees grow up to about 20 metres tall and flower between November and January with brillant crimson flowers. The flowering peaks around Christmas so Pohutukawa are known as the New Zealand Christmas Tree.

I wanted to take a doggy bag. No, not leftovers from one of the numerous times I ate out with friends but a doggy bag of home. Here's some of what came with me.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Cornwall Park Cornwall Park
Cornwall Park

A sheep photo for those who have told me they went to NZ but never saw one - how that could happen I don't know..........
Cornwall Park Cornwall Park
Cornwall Park

The very slopes I used to slide down on flattened cardboard boxes many years ago.
Mission BayMission Bay
Mission Bay

Looking toward Rangitoto Island.
Auckland sunriseAuckland sunrise
Auckland sunrise

On my way up Mt Eden.
Auckland sunriseAuckland sunrise
Auckland sunrise

From the top of Mt Eden, looking towards central Auckland City. Guess it was the cows' turn that week.......


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb