Mt. Eden


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 18th 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Since the trip to Bay of Islands, I’ve been concentrating on my research. Well, maybe not concentrating so much as occasionally working while spending more time playing. I have, however, visited my first marae and done my first interview, as well as become a regular in the Maori section of the University’s general library. I’m still trying to get some sense of how exactly to do ethnographic research, but it’s coming along.

Today, after an interview at a house in the Mt. Eden suburb, I did some exploring. Mt. Eden is an old volcanic cone and the summit is the highest point on the Auckland isthmus. So, still dressed in my nice interview clothes, I hiked up to the top and took out the camera. In the company of 20-30 cows (they’re everywhere!), I enjoyed the view of the city. There is a deep crater at the top, but you can’t climb down into it because it is part of a sacred Maori pa (a fortified village) site.

I’m feeling pretty comfortable in the city now. I’ve explored nearly everything downtown and within walking distance of my dorm, as well as some neighborhoods by bus. I’ve also been catching up on sleep and getting used to a slower pace with much less to do. It finally got sunny and now it's starting to feel like summer. Working on the suntan. Life’s pretty good.
Next on the agenda: rugby game Friday, and surf competition at Piha Beach on Saturday.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb