Need to move on from Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
September 26th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I think I’ve had about all the time I need in Auckland now (tonight will be my fifth night) and so I’ve booked a coach to travel north to a place called Paihia, which is near the Bay of Islands for three nights in a chalet by the beach.

The Youth Hostel that I have been staying in in Auckland is great with excellent cooking facilities and lots of friendly travellers . I wasn’t expecting to be eating beans on toast,( I bought the beans as someone else had a loaf) and playing Boggle within my first day of being here, and what a fab introduction to New Zealand to go to a rugby game, start chatting to a local and be given 2 tickets for another game!! It feels very damp in this city though and sleeping in a dorm with 7 other girls there’s lots of coughing and germs about. I think I’m coming down with a cold, accchhhhoooo!!

Yesterday I spent four hours totally absorbed in the Auckland Museum, well worth the $11.25 (about 9 quid) entrance fee which included a 45 minute Maori Cultural Perfomance of song and dance and a detailed account of the reasons behind the Haka. O.k. I think I’ve more or less recovered from the jet lag now - crazy light-headed swaying might have also had something to do with the shots of Jagermeister!! And again all the locals are very keen to hear all about my plans to see their beautiful country and do all they can to offer help and advice.

I think it's supposed to be a bit warmer further North but I don't know if I'll have chance to do any snorkelling yet, I'll probably get working first and wait for the waters to hot up.

oh yeah, how much of a coincidence is this - yesterday when I was at the museum I noticed that recently they've hosted a glass syposium and one of the guest lecturers used to tutor me at Sunderland Uni. Small world ehh!!

I've got some great pics but I'm not quite up to speed on all this technology yet so you'll have to bear with me for a while for images!!!!

Don't be shy to reply and take care, checking out of Auckland, over and out!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb