Sky Tower


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I said goodbye to Cassandra the cat this morning and my sweet suite around 10 am. I will miss my farmstay family!

Angela drove me to the Whangarei bus station, and we were able to enjoy some hot chocolate, and walk through the shops in search of dairy cow postcards, not meat cow ones. But all they had was sheep sheep and more sheep. Then I caught the Northliner ($32 NZD) for Auckland. The bus driver was MUCH more sane, and while we were late, I didn't feel half as scared as the trip up! Or maybe it was sitting on the aisle...We drove through pouring rain and sunshine so there were rainbows everywhere. One arched over the harbour as we approached the bridge.

I stowed my luggage at the bus station ($7 NZD for about 1.5 hours) so I could walk down to Victoria Park Market. It is a brick marketplace full of random NZ and other wares. It was under construction so I wandered through the shops then headed back to Sky City. There was an old brick "Kindergarten" building on the Park which I would have photoed if it hadn't been surrounded by fences.

Trudging back through the rain, I decided to go up to the 'lounge' for a snack. It was $18NZD for a backpacker to go up to the highest level- which I did. I got some stunning photos of Auckland and Harbour, and watching a nutter jump off the top (in a harness). I think the Sky Tower is about 328 feet (meters?) tall, it's the tallest building in the Southern Hemisphere. I also had a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich with 'still' bottled water for $7 NZD.

It was starting to get dark, so I retrieved my luggage and walked about ten blocks to Base Backpackers. It is a short walk to the Britomart station where I have to meet the train in the morning, and it has a girls only floor called The Sanctuary. I am in a room with three other girls, but we have very clean bathrooms and free toiltries and a towel for $30 NZD, plus a $20 key deposit. Internet was $2 per 30 minutes, and I have an hour's worth😊

The walk was pretty quick, despite the construction everywhere. There are tons of shops on Queen St. Base is on Loft street, a side street to Queen. It is a big hostel, but mostly empty. I have to be up early tomorrow to catch the Overlander- otherwise I would explore the harbour or maybe Mt. Eden. If I come back North with time to spare at the end, I may go down to Waitomo Caves or back up to the Bay of Islands. Auckland overall doesn't interest me greatly, everyone just seems to be shopping!

Accent update: I can almost pronouce all the names correctly. Still working on it.

Oh and the left hand thing applies to walking on the street too😊




Advertisement



23rd June 2007

Greetings from the EEC
Hi Jen, Kyle and I are just sitting here on a Saturday morning at the EEC wishing we were in NZ too. I hope all your travels go well. Sounds like you are having a blast. Keep us posted! Lindy

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb