Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 11th 2005
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived into Auckland after about a 13 hour flight from Santiago. Having 2 seats to myself made the flight much more bearable. After getting out of the airport it was a shuttle to the hostel and back to hearing English being spoken again after a few weeks of purely Spanish!

I stayed in an interesting area of Auckland, but spent my few days in Auckland trapsing around the city. It was a pretty good time as I came to the realisation I was in Australasia and would be home very soon.

Checked out the Sky Tower, with a trip up mid morning and one later in the evening. Some very good views and watched a few people jump off the tower (all harnessed in). Walked the streets and also spent some time at their Christmas Carols evening in the park.

It seemed like a big country town really and I was more just waiting to return home more than anything. But they were a good few days checking out the major city across the Tasman.

But for me it was time to go home and I got to the airport 4 hours before the flight. Checked in and got a flight with the Australian cricket side who were returning after a few one dayers against the Kiwis.

It was a great flight, chatting with a guy from LA and the air hostesses. Seeing Australian soil again was really something and I was now home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb