New Years Eve Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 31st 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning's breakfast wasn't great.... smoked bacon (which I don't like) and very greasy fried eggs. Yeurch. Still, the place was warm, nice, lots of ornaments and things. Interesting place. I drove down to Matakohe for the Kauri Museum. That was very good. They had loads of furntiure made from Kauri trees, very ornate. They had a massive Kauri Gum (Amber) collection. A lot of it was ornately carved, including ships and lighthouses. There was some with insects that had got stuck in what was originally just sticky, and now has hardened. It was worth going just for that - Vicki you would have loved it. They also had, what dad and Doog would have loved (not to mention my gricer friends), some "working" (of a fashion) saw mills and various engines. Very cool and well worth a visit. I spent about an hour and a half in there, but would be easy to spend two or three if you read a bit more of the stuff.

Then I headed down to Auckland. Took about anothe three hours driving back down SH1, which I came up the other day. Rained on and off. I got to my digs for tonight, a halls of residence. Then I went out for a walk to find The Dogs Bollix which is the bar I'm going to tonight as they have a tribute band called Maskara that plays 80s rock. Oh yes. I bought a couple of things for tonight and now am going to have a drink to get in the mood!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb