Coromandel


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 27th 2006
Published: December 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first day in the Coromandel was absolutely amazing. It was cloudy and/or rainy but we made the best of it. We saw some Kauri trees, a waterfall and a couple of beaches. At one of the beaches we sat and talked for a couple of hours. It's nice to have someone good to talk to once in a while. Our first night was spent at Colville Farm which is a hostel but also a farmstay. It was nice and quite. We wound up taking a drive and watching the sun set on another beach while listening to some amazing music. The whole atmosphere made me feel like I could be engulfed in the sea and sky.

The next couple of days, Tuesday and Wednesday, were spent mainly driving around stopping at lots of beaches for a few minutes and driving on. The second night we spent in Whitianga at The Cat's Pyjamas and the third night in Whangamata at Whangamata Backpackers. On the third day we tried to sit on a beach but got attacked by sandflies, evil little things.

Whangamata was very nice, it has a beautiful beach which I watched the amazingly clear stars from. I can always see Orion here and now I've seen the Southern Cross and the Milky Way. The Milky Way was so clear that Orion was almost lost in it.

On our fourth day we drove down to Tauranga and then back across to Raglan. Along the way we saw Bridal Veil Falls which are very nice. We skipped Hobiton because the only way we could find of going to see it was by paying for a $50 tour. That was not going to happen.

In Raglan we stayed at Solscape which is owned by the same guy who owns City Groove. It's a really nice place as well and also has an awesome beach. It's a major surf town. In the evening we drove down along the coast and saw some pretty cool rocky scenery.

On Friday, the last day of our trip, we sat on the beach in Raglan relaxing for a couple of hours before the weather turned on us again. We drove up the coast to get back to Auckland. I highly recommend this, there was a place called Limestone Meadows... something like that. Whatever it was it was beautiful. There was so much energy there. I want to live surrounded by places like that.

Since I've been back in Auckland things have been pretty busy. We've been celebrating every night and going to the beach nearly every day. I thought things would be back to normal yesterday but I was wrong. So here I am today, finally on the computer.

Advertisement



27th December 2006

More pictures! :) (I know, I know, it takes WAY longer to upload and resize photos than it does to simply type out a post.)

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb