going to Waiheke Island - Day 3?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 17th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

WEll, today I'll be taking a ferry over to Waiheke island. Wasn't able to get ahold of any hostels down there to have a place reserved so lets see what happens.
The latest news: well, my NEW camera BROKEN!!! Yes, the camera I did so much research on, the one I was decided on for a long time, is now READING "MEMORY CARD ERROR"...don't know if it's bc the canon sd600 doesn't accept 2gb sd cards? Is it bc I broke my SD card before I came, but I was able to take at least 10 pictures and no problem, but yesterday, that's a different story....man, I need a camera, can't be here an not take any pictures at all. Hmm...Casn anyone think of why my camera is acting up. By the way, I guess this is where the WARRANTY comes in handy huh?? LOL. On another thing, I might be coming down with pink eye! What is wrong with me?! I;ll try to go to a pharmacy today and lets see if they can give me anything w/o a prescription! AGH!!! But hey, I'm in NEW zEALand and have myself some brand new glasses, I'll be sporting for a week, thank goodness for glasses!
Other than that, yesterday was fun. WEnt around looking for plastic sandals bc my one of my TEVAS was gone from my pack after I picked it up from the airport. And there's no way I'm showering with no sandals on...I already did that the first night, YUCK! So, nonetheless it was an adventure going to the city (yes, I'm still in the city), trying to get sandlas and my intercity flexi-bus passes. Then, after a whole day running around, I went to a lovely park, one of the oldest here in auckland, to figure out my NZ journey route. I managed to make a rough plan. Then had a lovely dinner with my two new german friends, STephanie (or was it Catherine) and Tim the german. Chiken Korma and rice...yum! Then we strolled around Ponsonby (high end part of town....that's where they all dress to impress), then we walked over to this huge bridge, forgot the name of it) : )
So, now I sit hear, wearing my glasses, thinking of what stuff to leave behind here at my hostel before I take off to Waiheke...my pack just weighs to much...and I don't want to lug that thing around for 20 min. looking for the harbour I'll be departing from.
Sorry guys, but no pictures! This sucks, bc that's the reason I had bought my digital....hmm, I should have just brough my awesome Nikon N55! But oh well, I've gotta keep trucking!
The owner here at the hostel is freaking cool, Campbell. If anyone comes to Auckland, you should stay at VERANDAHS Backpacker hostel! It was funny, he must think I'm a wierdo, first, with him thinking I was deaf bc I had told him I was hard of hearing, and yesterday, he came in to the room, showing the new girl the dorm, He saw me and with a bewildred looked said, "are you ok"? I looked around and I was the only in there..."huh" i thought to myself, swishing my mouthwash in my mouth..."are u ok"...I noded yes, "r u ok"...I shooed him off this time with my hand, going out the door...later I came up to him a nd said'''CAMPBELL I had mouthwash and couldn't respond"....LOl..he probably thinks, this texan girl is strange...LOL.
WEll, I should make this entry a wrap...I have a few more min's on the computer, since it's timed...Until, tomorrow, Ill write again. Wish me luck for Waiheke island!!!!
Bye
CC


Advertisement



18th December 2006

camera
i sent you some possible ways to fix it to the email address you gave me... hope it works... sounds like youre having fun... - f
18th December 2006

yay!
it sounds like such a blast. i'm sooo sorry your damn camera broke tho, man that sucks. are there any shops you can pop in to and ask? we want pictures! keep having fun! and keep writing!
18th December 2006

I'm jealous already!!
Hey woman!, It sounds like you are settling in well, I hope you have fun, nothing new here. Miss you. Love Mareah

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb