Sorry for being quiet...we've been rather busy!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Papakura
December 21st 2017
Published: December 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hey there blog followers and friends

It's been a crazy 9 weeks here and, as well as finishing off the academic year and waving goodbye to my current class and moving into my new classroom, me and Katie have ventured whenever possible (some 20,000km since August) New Zealand is just spectacular and the usual Sunday jaunt across Hauraki to either Tauranga or Coromandel is always satisfying. With my folks arriving in 4 days and a 4 week trip to South Island looming, I do have some updates though...

First : I purchased a Yamaha Scorpio (225cc) motorcycle from a pal at work and remembered how much I adore motorcycling and in NZ that means GREAT rides, GREAT views and GREAT times. Even better, it was cheap and fitted in the back of Katie.

Next : I realised that 225cc was never going to fulfill my appetite for adventure and I looked kinda ridiculous on such a small machine

Then : I finally sorted my Trade Me (NZ Ebay clone) account and started having a look about for something more suitable. Stupidly, I figured that because cars in NZ are expensive, bikes would be too. Wrong. A motorcycle is priced here similarly or even slightly cheaper than back in the UK and as Kiwis love their adventures, bikes are plentiful and deals can be struck!

After that : I LOVE Tauranga and would visit any time. A suitably sized bike was located in Tauranga at a very reasonable price and off I went...

Finally : I went back to Tauranga (thanks Emma), bought the bike and have already enjoyed 600kms on her back. Welcome Hilde (that's short for Brunhilde of course) to the family. Long may she run...long may she be utterly composed and comfortable on and off the road and long may she forgive the poor riding of a middle aged fool!

Tomorrow : I am hitting Coromandel on Hilde with fishing rod and chair strapped to her back rack after an early hospital appointment to sort my toes.

Keep checking in guys - huge updates from South Island in a week or so


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



21st December 2017

Hello
Great update and no wonder you've been quiet for a bit! Sounds like huge fun. Glad all is still going well. Enjoy the time with your folks and have an awesome Christmas. Jen, Dylan and Josh ????
19th February 2018

Hey Jen and boys
Whew its been a whirlwind 10 weeks but feet back on the ground and around 11,000 kms of NZ blog to come shortly. Hope all is great with you and the boys and speak soon! O x
8th February 2018

Message from Joe
Joe has just said he’s missing you and feels sad , so thanks for the blog . He’s enjoyed looking at what you have been up to !

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb