1st Couple of Days in Auckland...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » North Shore
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bloody hell...I've just typed a huge blah blah blah entry and lost my internet connection so don't think it was published...so if I am repeating myself then sorry!!

Arrived safe and well...generally had a good trip but hated hated hated LA airport...will never go through there again!Had a chilled out day with Verity yesterday,it's so peaceful where her,Andyand Oliver live.It's about 10 mins away from the beach and about 20mins fromAuckland city.

Went into Auckland today.Went up the SkyTower which was cool...amazing views over Auckland...photos to follow soon!We also went on a city bus tour in a "stunning" pea green minibus...the city is tiny in comparison to London but lovely...really clean and not at all crowded.It's a really diverse place with the usual shops etc found in a city,but the harbour is lush(lots of posh yachts...unfortunately my frizzy backpackers hair do and waterproof jacket failed to get me a rich yacht owner...).I may well spend more time there on my way through to the airport after the Kiwi Experience!

Now...I've booked onto the Kiwi Experience...I leave on Monday from Auckland.Am going through Auckland,right up North to the Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga then making my way down South.AN doing both the North and South island.Really looking forward to starting the proper backpacking experience,although I'm sure I'll miss the home comforts of staying at Verity and Andy's after a couple of days!

Off to Rangitoto tomorrow,a volcano that is 600 years old....lets hope it stays dormant while I'm on it!!

Thank you all for the messages...much appreciated...keep them coming!Not homesick yet but ask me again in a few days!

Will be in touch soon x x x

Advertisement



20th September 2008

Hi Boon great that you are having a good time and that this travel blog thing works

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb