Good Morning Auckland!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » North Shore
September 30th 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night the receptionist told me not to worry about booking my 4.30am taxi to the airport, there would be a night porter at the desk who would do it for me, but when I got up I found the hotel deserted downstairs - all bar a pair of shoes!! I sat and waited, walking around a chouting from time to time but to no avail, until at almost 5.30am, when I'd all but given up hope of getting to the airport in time for my 7am flight, he came wandering back in from watching the rugby at a friends house! I went mad at him, but he ust stood there with a big grin on his face and said 'but Fiji won!!"!! I told the taxi driver all about this and he said "Well the rugby was on! We don't answer calls while the rugby's on!!!" This place is nuts!

Surprisingly I think Fiji airport had the highest security I'd come across so far! But there were no problems and before I knew it, I was on the plane to NZ! Woohoo! It felt so good to be getting away! I may come back to Fiji some day...maybe!
A Shady Character..A Shady Character..A Shady Character..

...how cheesy! Sorry! It didn\'t take Abi long to start going through my bag.

I sailed through Auckland airport and was greeted by Ali, Steve and Abi which was so unbelievably nice! No worrying about where I find the bus, or whether I have enough money changed, or whether the hostel do have my booking etc etc. I got a bit of a chocker coming out of the airport, as even though I was wearing the wamest clothes I'd bought with me I was FREEZING! Once I'd dropped my stuff off at the house (which is SO nice, proper posh!) and had a cupof tea they took me to buy some warmer clothes. Apparently the week previous the weather had been really nice but I was greeted rain that was set in for the day (apparently very unusual - typical!). At the shopping centre, after getting a couple of pairs of trousers, we went to a cafe and I had a latte in a bowl! Amazing!

That evening I was treated to a roast, which after a month away from my Granny's home cooking, was amazing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb