Sky Tower and Devonport


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Newmarket
November 12th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A plan never goes straight forward when you are travelling.

On Sunday I went back into the centre which is totally different to a Saturday as
most of the shops do not open at all on a Sunday apart from the tourist traps and
one food supermarket that is open 24 hours 7 days a week. There are also the Liquor town shops open.

I found the tower open and decided to go up as far as you can go without paying the extra to climb halfway up the spire. You certainly get brilliant views of Auckland
from the viewing point, the glass lifts on the way up are something else as they have glass floors. Whilst up there a few bungee jumpers passed on the outside, Yes I only took a picture I would not do a thing like that.
Once I had descended I went across to one of the companies head offices in relation to getting to the South Island. I obtained the brochure and booklet to take away and have a look at.

As the afternoon was setting in I headed down to the ferry port and caught a ferry across to Devonport, this is a suburb of Hamilton and is also the Navy base of New Zealand. I had a tour around which included seeing the disappearing gun built for World War 1. I then headed back to the centre and took at early dinner before catching the ferry back to Auckland. The ferry takes 12 minutes.
On returning to Auckland i walked along past the port to the hostel which took 20 mins and there was a lot of freight being taken off a container ship belonging to Mersek. Back at the hostel I read the info on the bus routes to the south of the Island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb