Auckland, Again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Mount Eden
November 19th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been so long since I wrote something, I am just going to give a short description of what we have been doing these past few days...car still working (it's a miracle). We have been all the way to the very top of NZ, Cape Reinga. It is supposed to be beautiful, and I am sure that it is, although when we got there, we were in the clouds and could not see a thing!! It was so disappointing. We camped out there and moved on the next day to the Bay of Islands. The islands are beautiful and MK and I finally got a "tramp" in along the beach! We took a ferry to Russell Island and went on another walk there. Every place here (except Auckland) is so small and really quaint. You definitely have to read up on the town before you travel to it because font size on a map does not correspond to actual town size. We have quickly figured that out! We then moved on and stayed in a small and very nice hostel in Omapere on our way back to Auckland.

We are currently in Auckland with one of MK's friends who just moved here from Charlestown. He has lived here before, so he is helping us get our stuff done...things like a work visa number and such. Also, during his previous trip, he made friends with a true NZ family who has become his second family and got to stay at their house last night!! It was SOOO nice to have a homecooked meal and be around a family and take a great shower!! I even got to blow dry my hair! Little things have all of a sudden become a luxury. We are leaving in the next hour to head to Tauranga and Mt. Maunganui to explore! We hear it is beautiful and one of the warmest places in the whole country! They are supposed to be big surfing towns. Don't know if I told you in the last entry, but it has not exactly been warm here. They all promise the warm weather is coming...we'll see! Mk is threatening to go skydiving soon. Don't worry Mother, not doing it! I will watch from the ground.

I have left out a lot of the good descriptions of things and people and places. We are trying to move on quickly today. PROMISE to get pictures and videos up soon!!

Love you all,

Eliza

Advertisement



19th November 2009

Hey Eliza!
Eliza...I am so happy to hear that you are safe and having such a great time! Please send some photos when you have a chance. Take care! Luv you - Mar
24th November 2009

I miss you!!! I am loving this travel blog!! Sorry it took me so long to sign up...my internet does not work at home so i am sneaking this in at work....hehe! Gosh the adventure yall are on....I WISH I WAS THERE!!! You are not missing much. I am in a freezing office cube right now haha. So when you get home sick think of doing that haha. I miss and love ya lots! If i win the lotto...I am joining yall! Keep the adventures coming. I am living vicariously through yall. Tell MK i said hey! :)

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb