Claire's turned Kiwi-ish


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Devonport
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had an amazing jammed packed three weeks with Kathryn, travelling from Cairns to Sydney. We had a wicked time, getting up to lots of mischief! It was so lovely to be able to talk to someone who actually knew me. Believe me, by that time I was all over the same ‘where are you from’ conversations!

After Australia, my plan was always to stick around New Zealand for a couple of months or so to spend time with family and maybe do some supply teaching. However, somewhere along the way I decided to take a teaching job for a year in Auckland!

It’s all gone pretty well so far. I’m teaching a bunch of rowdy year 7 kids, four of whom have ADHD. I can’t say it’s been a walk in the park but it’s certainly keeping me busy!

The NZ curriculum is also not as similar to the English one as I had presumed but it’s certainly very interesting learning how they do things over here. I’m part of a new project focused on developing numeracy and I’m on the English committee, both of which are interesting work-type roles.

Don’t worry, it’s not all work, that’s just not my style! I’ve made some good mates and the family are now complaining that they can never get hold of me! I also live right by the beach and the weather at the moment is just beautiful.

Oh yeah, I’ve also bought a bright, and I mean bright, purple little car. Andrew, and probably most straight blokes would hate it but it’s my little baby…called Myrtle!

So all in all, life’s pretty sweet. Don’t worry, am missing home for sure but am enjoying the lifestyle while I’ve got it!

Keep in touch guys. Lots of Kiwi love to you all. Cx


Advertisement



20th March 2007

Enjoy your Blog
Keep up the good work Lilian xx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb