First swim with dolphins


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
November 7th 2011
Published: November 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning, whilst still in the Bay of Islands, I took a boat ride out into the bay in search of dolphins. We found a couple so I went into swim with them. I have to say that I underestimated how hard it is to swim with flippers on when I have never used them before. Also the water was only 15 degrees so rather on the cold side. However even though I didn't get too close, it was a great experience, although when I got back on board I have never been so cold before. Afterwards we saw another pod of dolphins but these were more numerous but smaller but we couldn't swim with them as there were young with the pod. However this second pod came so close to the boat & had great fun swim around & under the boat that I saw more of them than the first pod.

I am now back in Auckland after the Bay of Islands for a few days until continuing with stray on Thursday. I now have a cool bag so ready for cooking some dishes myself in the hostels & I have somewhere to store the leftovers. Today I visited MOTAT, the transport museum in Auckland, which is really great with a huge Lancaster bomber in its hanger.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb