Routeburn Track: Day 3


Advertisement
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rain. This is the word for the day. The forecast for the area indicates 200-300mm of rain over the next three days. According to the hut warden, they get this type of forecast all the time, but they rarely get that much. As long as the creekbed just beyond the hut is dry, it should be fine to continue.

Fortunately, the creekbed was dry, but there was a steady mist/drizzle. It was definitely going to be a wet walk.

I made a later start (9:00) as there was only about five hours of hiking left before I reached the Divide Shelter. The trail rose steeply ("up" is now a four-letter word) through the bush and the trees kept a fair bit of the rain off. Although I was none to pleased with the trail going up, it was a magical place. Moss covered trees, mist, small waterfalls everywhere (some cascading across the trail), and then there was Earland Falls. Wow. Earland Falls is big, and the trail takes you right in front of the base of it (maybe sixty feet away). Even with raingear I was drenched.

After Earland Falls the rain picked up to a steady drizzle for the rest of the hike. At the Divide Shelter I said goodbye to the friends I'd made along the trail. I'll actually be seeing one couple when I'm in Wellington as they've offered to put me up in their spare room.

The Routeburn was a fantastic hike and I'm definitely glad I did it. On the down-side, my one knee is pretty stiff and swollen and my legs are not overly pleased with me. Tomorrow I have no plans other than recovering, but the day after that I'm slated for a four-day hike (the Kepler Track). I've decided to do the wise thing and cancel the first two days. I'm on holidays after all and I want to make sure that I'm ready for the Milford Track (another four-day hike).

Good night from Te Anau.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Routeburn TrackRouteburn Track
Routeburn Track

Earland Falls
Routeburn TrackRouteburn Track
Routeburn Track

Earland Falls
Routeburn TrackRouteburn Track
Routeburn Track

Earland Falls
Routeburn TrackRouteburn Track
Routeburn Track

The Divide Shelter (trail's end)


5th January 2011

Love the photos!
Hey, Andrew... great photos, man :)

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb