Week 32- Pacific Harbour- Nadi- Beachcomber- Drawaqa Island- Matacawalevu Island


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
April 20th 2015
Published: April 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Woke up feeling a little worse for wear so went to see abbey at work to eat my way through my hangover. Then I got the bus to Nadi which took 3 hours, I just read a book. Then I checked into horizon, had dinner and an early night! The next morning I was up at 6.30 ready to get my transfer to the port. From there I got a boat to Beachcomber Island, which was amazing! It was so small you could walk round it in 15 minutes! I sunbathed, had lunch.... Then sunbathed again! I got chatting to a girl called jade in my room, we chilled outside watching the sunset. After dinner Jade and I had some drinks with two German guys and an Israeli guy called Dor. We just had a few before having an early night.
In the morning Jade left so Dor and I hung out all day. We had another lazy day sunbathing and going in the sea and pool. Then we met a guy called Jack that we chatted to for a bit and we all had dinner together. In the evening we had a few cocktails but nothing crazy! Beach life is surprisingly tiring!
The following day we had breakfast together then Jack and I got the boat up North. I got off at barefoot resort on Drawaqa Island. It was incredible, a little piece of paradise! I was put in a little hut on the beach with 4 beds. I shared with a lady called Nicola and a girl named Ellie, both were lovely! I spent most of the day in a hammock outside our room- the sea is so blue it's crazy! At dinner my roomies asked me to join them- they were both part of a project but I joined the table anyway! We had some kava in the evening and all chatted before another early night. It's all so relaxed on the islands!!
Had a nice breakfast the next morning before hanging out with Ellie, Nicola and Eve. Then Eve and I decided to go kayaking. It was lots of fun and we were planning to go around the whole island but we got about half an hour out and our kayak started to fill with water so we had to swim back in sight of the shore and call for help so we could be rescued, which was hilarious! After we got over our traumatic experience we went jewellery making with George, Ellie and Nicola, it was quite hard work but I made a cool bracelet! Then I chilled in a hammock for a bit before we all went on a sunset walk. The Fijians said it would take 45 minutes to get to the first point but it took us 15 so we walked to a higher point and settled in for sunset. Unfortunately it was a little cloudy but still pretty! We made it back in time for dinner and had a bonfire on the beach afterwards!
I woke up early the next morning and Amy (Eve's friend) and I spent the whole day sunbathing! I had a little nap at 4 and showered before Amy and I sat on the beach waiting for dinner. We got chatting to a group of people and played uno. After dinner there was a hermit crab race and team South England won- so we got a free beer!
The next morning I got up and said bye to everyone before they did their project and sat on the beach until my boat came at 12! Then I got the boat to my next island, Long Beach Resort. It was much smaller than the other resorts and there was only about 6 other guests there with electricity on between 6-10pm. It was a family run resort with 6 staff so it had a family feel to it all as they welcomed you in to their home! I sunbathed all day again and then had dinner. We had a big kava ceremony and myself, 3 English girls a Chinese guy and a Swedish guy all stayed drinking kava and chatting with the Fijians until 1! It was a fun evening and I loved how welcoming the family were to us all 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb