Fiji - Grand All In One Report


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
May 27th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jungle PathJungle PathJungle Path

Deep through the rain forest streams with angry parrots sqauaking their beaks off.
Wow, what can I say, Fiji is superb place to visit!

Anyways all in one review, easier for you.

Sunday - arrive 3am, my 'feejee experience' office is locked, slight panic and visions of sleeping on park bench, it's okay the chap had just gone to the toilet. get dodgy van over to my hostel resort, slip into bed at 4am, get up later and spend an entire day by the pool feeling guilty for being Western

Monday - leave 8am on big green 'feejee epericnce' bus, not that busy, anyway I can't remember place names, first thing is Nadi market, crap, but buy a fetching sarong/sula. Then go to a remote beach and face the biggest waves I've ever seen, get whacked back onto beach several times, bit like being in the Posieden Adventure and actually being the ship if you know what I mean. Then visit a village and all the kids gather round, they take great pleasure in using up all the film on my underwater disposable camera, 15 pics of me looking annoyed at having to pay to develop 15 pictures of me looking annoyed etc etc.
Then the famous 'sandboarding' on some sand
Me in SarongMe in SarongMe in Sarong

It's not a skirt it's a SARONG, to cover the knees, not an attempt to go all David Beckham
dunes I fail misrabley getting stuck halfway down.
Over to the 'flashpacker' Mango Bay resort, have dinner with 4 young ladies, lose a limbo dancing compettion, crab racing compettion, drink too much 'fiji bitter' not good, considering.....

Tuesday - up early to hit the highlands and Trek, it's a mesmerisingly attractive route (oh dear I'm fed up of thinking up adjectives to impress) cut through the jungle through streams, angry parrots squuak in dissaproval of the disturbance, tube down the river a bit, then jump into a cold waterfall pool, tackle my fear of falling by jumping off a high bit, I'm a man! Then comedy classic, get into long boat, but only my leg so it takes off, and I'm dragging underneath, fall in water, then have to climb back in and provide all with much merriment. Go to Suva, like anyother town anywhere, eat a big buffet, early night

Wednesday - drive up into the remote parts, visit a village, drink the Kava, lots of Kava, as a cermony to welcome to the village, drink loads, feel good, it's virtually a narcotic. raft down the river, i'm good at that, then visit a primary school, where
Fijian Village ChildrenFijian Village ChildrenFijian Village Children

They insisted I take a picture
we parade round lots of pleasant but shy children, some of whom walk 5 miles to school (I'm sure I used to do that!!!) Over to a backpackers haven near island of Ra, is heaven, win the crab racing, drink more kava, I'm out of it!

Thursday - Start by big breeky, follwed by a kayak in the sea, fall in there and one is probally done for,
have a fish curry in Ba, in Indian quarter, lovely, then hit the mud baths and hot pools, very refreshing, esp as not had an actual bath in a month (don't worry I've showered regularly) then back to Nadi to another flashpackers resort, have last dinner with pals from the feejee, very nice

Friday - lazy day by pool, doing laundry, and suffering from diareah, thought it would get me, luckily the resort shop sells immodium. feel very sorry for oneself, don't risk using the swimming pool, just in case!


and the was fiji, the best thing is the people, friendliest I've ever met, some superb mountains, etc, in some ways like the scottish highlands. Had resercations about doing a tour thing but with my one week it
Island of RaIsland of RaIsland of Ra

Nice spot for sea kayaking
got me to some great places and people and as a 'single' traveller' it gave me loads of people to mix with which was great.
the fact that people in fiji are poor yet are always happy and smiling etc is a lesson to us lot, rich and misrable. as for visiting YOU MUST, but do it soon, western resorts etc are clearing going to take over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb