More Ear Problems in Paradise


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
February 24th 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Looking back at the Fiji Islands weeks ago, I realize that the Fiji islands were closer to paradise than I have ever been. Everything from the turquoise and crystal clear water to the numerous islands which looked like small plots of lush green volcanic land made me feel like I had entered Never Neverland . Rachel and I took a five hour ferry to the farthest island, Nacula, in the Yasawas. We stayed at a resort right across from the Blue Lagoon Island, where the movie The Blue Lagoon was filmed. Nacula looked exactly like the island did in the Blue Lagoon, there were hermit crabs all over the beach, papaya, coconut and banana trees everywhere and mountains and tropical forests inland.

Although I got an ear infection from the rain pelting against my head on the boat taxi to the resort and I could not go in the water, I found a way to take advantage of the country. I met many English people on their own around the world trips who had a lot of good advice to give. The highlight of Fiji for me though was hanging out with the local Fijians. Every night there was a kava ceremony where you could join the circle and drink coconut bowls full of what tasted like watered down mud. Even though the kava gives you a little buzz, I enjoyed the ceremony because it made me feel like part of their community.

After I got back to the mainland, I had to extend my stay in Fiji for four more days because I couldn't fly due to my ears. Despite the fact that I was in such a beautiful country these four days were challenging because it was so hot, I didn't feel well and there was not a beach nor a breeze nearby. However, I learned a lot in those long days, I learned more about the Fijian culture from a different view. As I walked into town I realized that everthing was written in Hindi and all the people around looked liked Indians. The Indians came over as indentured laborers to work on the sugar cane feilds so now much of the Fijian culture is influenced by the presence of the Indian businesses, food and religion. It was nice because I went to Fiji expecting to experience only Fiji ways, but I ended up feeling like I was back in India at the same time.
.

Advertisement



25th February 2006

Hi
I've never done travel blog stuff before, so I'm trying this comment option as well as sending you a private e-mail. Not sure what will work best for you. Hope your ears are better. Really enjoyed reading about Fiji and look forward to future travel updates. Continued good travels to you!
2nd March 2006

Paradise
I believe that you have experienced paradise first hand. Glad to hear everything is going well so far. Hope your ear continues to heal along your journey. Love, Lauren

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb