Fiji Time......Just in the Nick of Time


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Palm TreePalm TreePalm Tree

Took this sweet shot at the hotel on the mainland
Bula! I'm writing this from Los Angeles cos I haven't been on the t'internet since NZ. For my Fijian experience, I decided to head out to the Yawasa Islands to sample a piece of paradise. As soon as you enter Nadi airport, you get a group of Fijian's singing and playing guitar to welcome you to their country. This continued on all the Islands I visited and the Fijians on the whole are top lads/lasses....Vinaka

Nanuya Balavu

I spent the first 5 days of the trip here at the Mantaray Resort and sods law, it pissed it down for the first 4 days which meant the tanage didn't get a upgrade. Anyway, the snorkeling there was sweet because the quality of the reef was unbelievable. I spent a lot of my time shimmying between the coral and watching the colourful display in front of me. Besides the fish, they also get reef sharks and rays, although the big Mantarays aren't knocking about until June. I also managed to do a spot of scuba diving in the area which meant I could explore some of the deeper water and see a few octopuses (octopi?).

For one of the
Mantaray ResortMantaray ResortMantaray Resort

View from the dorm
nights we had a Kava Ceremony which involves downing bowls full of this barley type water which to be honest, aint that good. There's no alcohol in it and it doesn't really do anything apart from get your tongue a bit numb. On the next island along the locals were telling us that locals under 42 were having a year off the Kava to 'make babies' cos appartantly it's not too good for the old lad when he's required to go into battle.

As part of the deal on these Islands you get your food included and the snap here was great. We had 3 buffet meals a day with all sorts food imaginable. Probably the best I've eat on the trip so far I'd say.

Waya Lailai

I spent 3 days here and by the time I reached the Island the weather was back to what it should be. Shirt off and onto the beach then! Aside from the usual, I managed to climb up the hill behind the resort which gave a sweet view over the beach and Kuata Island opposite. I also rented a jetski which satisfied my adrenalaine fix for a while at
Waya LailaiWaya LailaiWaya Lailai

Bure's at the resort
least. On the last night the Fiji lads got everyone up doing the Bula Dance which was a bit like that Macarana stuff back in the 90's. After we had a limbo competition and the local favourite, "Big Jerry" lead the proceedings. He did quite well for a big lad but keeled over when the bar got pretty low creating a mini tremor which almost caused me spill some of my pint.

Bounty Island

I spent my last 2 days on the location where they filmed the first series of Celebrity Love Island. Fortunately I didn't spot that Paul Danan or he might have caught the sharp end of my fist! The loveshack at the other end of the island has been left to rot and there's a ton of graffiti all over it. If they'd have kept it in good nick they could have easily rented it out cos the tourists would have payed more to stay there. This was probably the best of the lot and I could have easy spent longer. There was a ton of acitivities to do like snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, windsurfing and sailing so I was always busy when not sunning
Waya LailaiWaya LailaiWaya Lailai

Didn't quite get to the top
it up at the beach (or sun deck next to the swimming pool). They also had a table tennis table and pool table at the bar so I was sorted. Because the island is pretty small you can walk all the way round it on the beach in about 25 mins which helps to burn off the extra food you put away at the buffet. Always thinking....

In other news I managed to get through 4 books which would normally take me a good few years. Feel like a whole new man.

Eye's peeled for the States blog ya'll

JP


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Waya LailaiWaya Lailai
Waya Lailai

View from the climb
Bounty IslandBounty Island
Bounty Island

"Ohhhh what a lovely bunch of coconuts..."
Bounty IslandBounty Island
Bounty Island

Steady beach
Bounty IslandBounty Island
Bounty Island

Front of the resort
Bounty IslandBounty Island
Bounty Island

Ready for battle


29th April 2007

Paradise my arse
Dunt look that sunny in Fiji lad, I bet it was hotter here. Speaking of bet (Nice link eh!) look after your hard-earned your brass in Vegas. Dont want to be totally skint when you head for San Francisco. If you go to Alcatraz, have a look for the Birdman's cage sorry cell. Al Capone also spent a bit of time in there. Looking forward to seeing the pictures of the Grand Canyon and Golden Gate Bridge. Let us know what your SFO flight number is and I'll check the old t'internet to see what time your connection to Manchester flies. Take care John, be good to see you after all this time. Papa.
30th April 2007

Hola!
Alreyt Pap lad, hows it goin son. Sorry not posted at all but I lost link and these Perot lot are working me into the ground (no change there!). Looks like your having a whale of a time lad and rightly so, once in a lifetime opportunity and all that. Nice set of tats with them coconuts, nearly bigger tat than Marren (HAHA). Seems like only yesterday you went lad and you will be back soon, life is zipping by with a vengeance. Things are pretty much the same back at home, we are leaving the hallowed halls of Lattimer as Capex want to save some brass, moving us out to Harrow (Again, shafting us minus lube). Anyways lad, tek care of thi sen and give us a shout wen u get back so we can congregate for a few jars. Cheerio, Wymanovski.
2nd May 2007

Big Boobs on Bounty Island
Wat a site for sore eyes thought mine were big, but your coconuts beat anybodies, you would have looked good in the grass skirt. Glad you landed in LA ok. Great result for Liverpool, are you joining the lads in Olympic country. Will be great to see you johnny boy, although don't know how well coconuts and grass skirt will go down in BARNSLEY!!! but then again they mite do, some lasses don't have much fashion sense. Take care, have good journey around the US of A.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb