Fiji #2


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu » Nadi
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Scuba DivingScuba DivingScuba Diving

Getting all the gear on - it weighed a ton!
Hi all!

Have finally managed to find a decent computer so I can update you all! Spent almost a week on the Feejee Bus going rounf Viti Levu, the main Ilsand of Fiji. Saw loads, and really got to experience the Fijian culture and way of life. I visited villages, took part in a traditional Kava ceremony, went river tubing, visited a school, threw myself off the top of a waterfall, took part in a Bilibili raft race and went scuba diving....and that's only the beginning!!!

The Kava ceremony was probably the most traditional part of the culture that I experienced. Kava is a drink made from the ground root of the Kava plant. It is a sacred drink, originally drank by the chief and his warriors before they went off to war. It is not alcoholic, but posesses a drug- like quality. Apparently if you drink enough it makes your whole body go numb and you get very sleepy. My mouth went numb after just a few sips! Unfortunately, Kava resembles muddy water, and tastes much the same. Still, I have consumed it on a few more occasions and it's not so bad after a while!!!
Voli Voli ViewsVoli Voli ViewsVoli Voli Views

The view from outside my dorm at Voli Voli :)

Scuba diving was another highlight, I was staying at the most amazing place in RakiRaki, a hostel called Voli Voli Beach Resort. It's brand new and situated on the side of a hill, overlooking the sea, the views were excellent. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and the bar did great food. The staff were lovely and everyone knew my name, or so it seemed! We managed to stop here for 3 nights but didn't want to leave! I went diving on a reef a couple of miles off the coast of RakiRaki (the northern part of Fiji). Despite choking and inhaling water a couple of times, I survived and it was an experience to remember. We dove to 12 mentres, it's another worrld down there. I saw countless tropical fish, colour changing coral, and was informed by one of the boat crew that if I looked carefully I may encounter a shark! Needless to say I did not look carefully, didn't fancy coming face to face with a shark! We were underwater for about 45 mins although it seemed a much shorter time. I then jumped off the boat again to snorkel on a shallower part of the reef, with the coral a mere 50cm below me. Again, there was a lot to see, and I watched some other advanced divers from our boat do a deep dive, and caught their exhaled air bubbles as they floated to the surface! AFter the baot ride back I was happy to tuck into a huge lunch and then chill and kayak for the rest of the day!

We also went to the Yasawa Islands, staying on Korovou and Naviti. Korovou was a bit of a nightmare, very very basic and full of the most horrible bugs! Thankfully we only had one night there but we didn't even sleep under the sheets, it wqas that manky! The beach was lovely, and it was swelteringly hot... meals were included in our accommodation, but lets just say that I went hungry that day!!! Naviti was much nicer, and I enjoyed a couple of days of relaxing in a hammock and swimming in the sea. The food was much better there too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kava!Kava!
Kava!

Drinking Kava at the SevuSevu ceremony
UGH!UGH!
UGH!

The Savageness of the 'hostel' on Korovou


29th May 2007

Hi Gems You certainly packed a lot into your stay in Fiji. I can't believe you actually plucked up the courage to scuba dive - Well done!!! By the way please do not bring back a bottle of Kava - thanks all the same. Cheers!!!
30th May 2007

Lucky Lucky You
Hi Gem Your blogs make good reading and the photos are great - continue to stay safe and enjoy this fantastic experience. bfn xx
1st June 2007

when's the next flight!
I'm not sure if this all fits my definition of travelling Gem........it seems i've been going all wrong. Where are the smelly, overflowing toilets and excruciatingly bumpy day-long bus rides? Not in Fiji-obviously. Well, for me, home time is fast approaching. Less than a month now. Live it up Gembean, G x

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb