The Pea's Grand Adventure


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
July 11th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The pea sat alone in the hire car, as the driver speed away from her two, furry friends; Anna and Beanie. They were heading to the south island of New Zealand for a week, while the Pea was heading out to Fiji! 😞

The flight went nice and smoothy, I tucked into ice cream while watching "Becoming Jane". Arrived at 9pm Fiji time and peeled off the ten jumpers I had been wearing in New Zealand and headed to the mini bus provided by the hostel. That night sleeping alone, was very strange and for safety I pushed a dresser and chair againiat the door and slept with my hair brush in my hand!

Next day I was up bright and early to go on a tour of Nadi, that was organised by the hostel. We visited a Fijian village, where we got to look around their houses, church and school. Then headed to the outdoor mud and hot spring pools. The mud was nice, not so much like a spa mud pool though and more like a dug out hole in the ground with sticks and bugs crawling in it! But it was good fun and our guode said it was great for your skin, so I covered mmyself in it.

I stayed in Nadi for four nights, in that time I saw the beautiful and intricate Hindu temple, visited the local Nai markets, saw the local craft stalls; where they sold pretty wooden braclets, drums, dolls and masks, tried Kava (a potent and interesting Fijian alcohol) for the first time, located the beach, located where to get a big mac (oops!), did some shopping and went on a dinner date with a guy that was staying in my dorm!

I decided after four nights in Nadi, which is a little run down and scary if you are traveling alone, to move to New Town. New town, is only about 15 mins from Nadi by taxi and has some very nice hostels that cater for backpackers. I stayed at New Town fro my next four nights, spending most of my time sun bathing, swimming and reading on the beach. I did also go horse riding on the beach but wild dogs kept chasing the horse and it was not as fun by myself. Sob.

Although, I met some really cool people while I stayed at New Town. Met a girl called, Melissa and a nice couple from England first. Melissa had been traveling with her friends and they had just gone home too, we chatted about traveling mostly and how we were both already planning our next trips! Also, me a guy from Leeds who used to work for Toni and Guy. I had been complaining all trip that I needed my hair shaved off or something, so I not very sneakily asked if he had his scissors and the next thing you know I'm propped up on a night stand with him chopping away like Edward Scissorhands!So I got a funky Toni and Guy hair cut for about £20 Fijian dolloar (which is about £6.50p in sterling). Whoo!

I was reading in the drom one night when one of our house mates from University, Alex, one of her best friends from back home walked in, Nicole. Nicole was friends with Alex from home but had come out with us all, one night in our first year of Uni. Such a small world! Spoke to her about Alex, traveling and uni. Nicole was lovely and it was really nice to see someone you recognise half way around the world.

Met one strange guy from new zealand, he asked 'If I loved deflowering people?', I told him I'd never been very good at botomy and quickly scampered off!!

Later got chatting to two girls from Luton, Toni and Amy. They had been doing a similar trip and were really nice, funny and down to earth. I spent two days with them, talking about our most embarrassing moments and how all men are rats! Just the usual girl stuff then! They were moving to the south of Fiji, to the coral coast as they had heard the beach and sea was alot prettier down south.

to be continued...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.2kb