Fiji - not for the weak


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided against taking pictures in Fiji. By the time I landed it was night time in Nadi. I decided to go and stay in a backpacker's hostel for $35 for the night plus another $15 for drinks. It has been an interesting 12 hours in this country and I can not wait to go to Auckland. This place is lawless and untamed, the locals are nice but there is a look in their eyes that is unnerving and chills the spine. The hostel I stayed at was not professional, but it was nice and sweet. I lived in a small villa house, something you would see on a commercial for the Caribbean. The hostel was filled with travelers, mostly from Europe, who barely spoke a word to me. Britts are not the nicest of people abroad, and this proved it. No one spoke to me--trust me I tried--the only person who spoke to me was a French girl. Ironic.
I ordered food and a drink from the barmaid who told me to call her "Tequila" . Amazing, I thought, why this place is great. The workers all wanted to know more about us and sat and talked to us. Things would only start to get weirder from here; I was unprepared for the weirdness that would ensue. TRAVELERS! if you are from America DON'T SAY YOU ARE. That was my first mistake on this island. I am sure if I said I was from USA while I was in NZ or Australia that I would be fine, but that does not work here.
While at the bar a drunk fijian woman asked me if I called my mom. I said "Yes, I did".
"When did you call her boy?"
"Um...", as I searched for a precise time I said, "about 8 hours ago"
She smiled, grabbed my hand and kissed it. She held my hand and looked at me like a drunken buffoon.
"Where ya from?"
"America"
"You're gorgeous"
Oh geez, this is it, I am in trouble now. I figured that a drunken girl could be humored and I could walk away quickly so I replied, "So are you!"
"Piss fart, what are you doing tonight?"
Decadent woman! Leave me alone. Time to think quickly and with a drunk person you have some time. I quickly got change to play pool in the pool machine and said that I was playing pool. The harlot got mad and incoherently said something about how I would be playing with her son. Great, I thought, just what I need; getting into a fist fight was not the plan for a 15 hour lay-over.
Kelley, that was her son's name, did in fact play with me. He was so drunk, couldn't make a shot and what did I do at the end? Sunk the 8-ball to let him win. While we were playing, I can tell you this, was interesting. He asked me where I was from and I said New Jersey.
"OH, I have heard of that place!", he said.
"Yeah, I am 30 mins out of New York".
"Oh, I am afraid of New Yorkers, they scare me".
He never told me why he was or what his reasons where but he did get angry soon thereafter. The actual conversation is hazy and monotonous due to him being completely wasted. He asked me what I was studying, I said English/Litterature and he got offended/angry/jealous because he was a motor-engine engineer and he was saying that if his job didn't exist that my job would be absolute. I was a geek and he was the rebel against his teachers kid and he was mad at me for being who I was. I quickly changed the topic, just in time for a fight to happen. The harlot was still trying to get my attention, calling me the IBM man (which I have no understanding of what that means) and Kelley kept telling her to shut up. He eventually bought me a drink because he was so embarrassed of his mother's drunken state.
Fiji is a real gorgeous island. Flying into it, you fly into a small field airport and you can see ALL of Fiji and the outer islands. Its amazing. The mountains are pretty-I saw the sun set and rise both days. I am here in the airport getting ready to fly to Auckland. I will sleep on the plane because a worker at the Hostel had a dog and the dog was barking at 4 a.m. this morning. It was a choir of dogs barking...I just wanted to sleep. The flight will have breakfast and drinks and will take about 3 hours. I can get another two hours and party in Auckland.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb