A Complete Write Off!!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Mamanuca Islands » Mana Island
April 4th 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

4th April 2009 - ALCOHOL IS EVIL!!!
I woke at 8am and have never felt so bad in my entire life...no exaggeration!! I spoke briefly with Nat and then we both rolled over as neither of us could face getting up for breakfast. We could not move!! I had some water but felt so sick! Surely another couple of hours sleep would cure me as I don’t usually get hangovers at all!!

At 11am, Nat got up and headed to the beach. I was still in a bad way and could not move. I felt like I had been hit by a bus! I snoozed on and off the whole day until 4pm when I made myself get out of bed and go for a cold shower. The shower in the pitch black (no electric until 6pm) and freezing cold water was not pleasant but it did the job and I felt loads better afterwards though very hungry! Once I had spruced myself up I walked to the beach to meet the others.

Everyone just laughed at me. No one had felt too good that day but I think I took 1st prize! So unlike me too…maybe all the times I should have had a hangover and didn’t had caught up with me!! I listened as the others told stories about the day. The main story was about lunch and after hearing what was served up I think I made the right choice in staying in bed. Cold baked bean and cold tinned spaghetti sandwiches. Not buffet style either where people could have avoided the filling and just opted for bread and butter oh no….the bread had been buttered and the filling put in. I never thought a Fijian dish would contain baked beans but in a sandwich…bleughh!!! The stories of how people managed to eat them were funny though and the spaghetti sandwich was to become a long standing joke amongst us all!! Another highlight of the day that I had missed involved Daniel San. He had decided to walk along the beach doing karate moves at random. Not joking about but seriously! What a guy…would have loved to have seen that!!

At 5.30ish we moved inside and played some good cards until dinner at 6pm. Dinner was not so hot but I was very very hungry I would have eaten anything…well, except a spaghetti sandwich!! I filled my plate with rice, bread, mashed pumpkin; unidentifiable meat on the bone, soggy green stuff and god knows what else! Tasty stuff!! Most of us managed ok but I couldn’t help but laugh when looking over at Alabama…he looked like he would have rather have stuck pins in his eyes than eat the food! Love meal times at Mana!

After tea we sat around chatting and playing some more cards before the night entertainment started. The Fijians performed some traditional dancing and singing for us which was nice and meant that we didn’t have to do anything except watch. They finished with some fire throwing which was impressive. They opened the fire throwing up to the audience to have a go and guess who stepped up…Daniel San!! That guy just loved attention and it didn’t matter whether people were laughing at him or with him…he lapped it up! Definitely a few crisps short of a packet in my opinion!!

After entertainment we moved back inside. A few of the guys and Orla (well…she is Irish) had a beer but the rest of us stuck to water. We played some cards, chatted some more and then went to bed. We were all hoping to go on a boat trip the following day and so an early night with no hangovers needed by all!! Despite the hangover I had still enjoyed my day. Such a good group of people…love Mana Island!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 32; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb