We Make The Party


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Mamanuca Islands » Mana Island
April 6th 2007
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi All
Hope you're well. I'm now in sunny (and sweaty!) Fiji! although I'm leaving tomorrow. I'm currently in Nadi on the mainland, but we've spent the week on Mana Island. Very small and beautiful. Did some amazing snorkelling! Also went island hopping in a tiny tin boat. Went to Malolo Island, Musket Cove, Walu Beach and Honeymoon Island. Escaped the tsunami....now that was a sweaty time! Lots of worrying and being evacuated up a big hill (in the sunshine). The good news is I'm alive and brown.
The hostel we stayed in was pretty squalid in a poor village on the island. But the kids were fun which made it worth while.
I went hand line fishing, where we caught an eel and 2 fish....yum!
We drank the local drink of Kava. Now guys, what was in that stuff I don't know! But I had a coconut full and couldn't feel my face. It's non-alcoholic, so I ask...what's in it! As the locals say 'you drink the Kava and you make the party'. We did indeed.
We did broom dancing, limbo and many beverage related games.
Alas, we leave these fair shores tomorrow....but we're going to the Cool Islands, so it ain't all bad!
Shall update from the Cook Islands next week if I can. If not it'll be from LA the following week.
By the way, I'm thinking of staying in America for an extra 10 days or so. So If anyone fancies meeting me in Las Vegas and seeing the sights and taking a few road trips between April 28th and May 14th let me know. My email is bex35@yahoo.com (if you didn't know).
Love Bex
xxxxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th April 2007

u r gorgeous
i love that photo of u with the starfish, u look so happy and beautiful xox
8th April 2007

Brown or What!!!!
Hi Kid! I can't believe how brown you are, you look like Bibi! I'm really jealous, you are having such a wonderful time! I am cosolling myself with Easter Eggs from Poppy and Andy. Don't worry, I have bought you plenty to nibble on when you return - if you ever do! I hope that somebody takes up your offer of 2 weeks in the US. It will be great if you can have more time there. Tell Helen that they are really stressed at BT, they all say I made the right decision! Love you loads Maaw xxxxxxxx
10th April 2007

Mama Harvey
Hi Maaw, Thanks for the lovely msg. Tis true, I look like I've rolled in filth, I'm that brown. No chocolate worthy of the name on the island...boooo! So we had an easter ice lolly. Yeah it would be good if someone could join me in the US. If not I may just go it alone for a couple of wks. i'll see what the vibe is once I'm over there. But I do plan to be home by mid-May at the latest and then take things from there. Looking forward to munching on easter eggs with you! Love you monkey Kid xxxxxxxxx
12th April 2007

;-)
The pet starfish looks so cute- I hope he didn't bite you after the photo was taken :-) !! Your travels look ace, and you are so tanned (I'm gonna have to get onto the fake tan or I'll be as pale as a white-board next to you when you get home)!! Continue having an awesome time, see you when you get back to classy Hemel!! x x x Siobhan x x

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb