License to Drive


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
May 16th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me on my MopedMe on my MopedMe on my Moped

Helmets and sensible trousers should be worn at all times, but aren't.
Well bloggers and bloggettes, I'm still unable to hear much thanks to my ear blockage, for the time being I'm avoiding group conversations as I just can't keep up, anyways sadly tequilla is not a cure for blocked ears, and the blockage just makes the headache worst.

Today though was much better, I got a lift into town by some kind chap and realised how good the scooters are, so booked up a scooter for the next 3 days, which means I can get about better now and keep my dinner appointment tommorrow.

Went to the police license centre where I was taken out for my test, a cook islands police officer gives you a little route to do and he follows you, it's a bit intimidating and I took a wrong turn so he got back somewhat before me, but to my surprise I passed, clearly only strict Raratongan law prevented him from offering me a place on their version of the highway patrol, so now I'm mobile! and I have a Cook Islands Driving Licence!! sadly it expires next year and my chances of using it again are slim, but everyone who sees me on my return must ask me to proudly produce it from my wallet.

So i took a scoot right round the 32km of the island, thrilled that filling up tank is a mere 4 dollars, AND they do it for you which i think they did in britain until about the 1980s

the new thrill of being a biker (think Steve McQueen in the Great Escape) should hopefully keep me entertained until friday. must be carefull though, on the scooter lift this morning we almost hit a pig! yes they roam free here, as to numerous mishaped dogs, goats and children.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb