Lost New Friend Returns


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
September 11th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Christina LeavesChristina LeavesChristina Leaves

I got a friend to snap off a picture as she was leaving for the airport. It was really good to catch up with her. I left her my e-mail, so the ball is in her court to get back in contact. It's odd to think that there's a decent chance I never see her again, but hopefully I'll make it to Germany sometime in the next few years.

Lost New Friend Returns


So some of you may recall from a post way back that when I arrived at Tiare village I meet a German girl, Christina, who was working at the dentist office. A few weeks into the stay she decided to move off Rarotonga to work at the dentist shop in Aitutaki. Before she left we were supposed to catch up on a Sunday and head down to Muri beach. Unfortunately with no cell phone we missed each other. She left the following Monday so I didn’t get to meet her. I was very sad about this and thought that by now her six weeks were up and she had already returned from Aitutaki and left the Cooks.

So I’m down at practice, putting the boat into the water, when someone rustles my hair from the side of the boat launch. I turn around and there’s Christina! I thought for sure she was gone and I’d never see or hear from her again (I had left my e-mail but the note got lost). We talked for a bit and it turned out that she was leaving that night (or morning, depending on how you look at it) at 4 AM. She was having a final dinner down at Trader Jacks (where we paddle from) so I got to talk to her and her friend as they had a few drinks before dinner while I wasn’t in the boat.

Anyways, we caught up some more later that evening after I cleaned myself up from practice. It was very refreshing to hang out with someone my age and to have something different to talk about. She’s in New Zealand right now, and I tried to give her a few tips on what she could do based on my short previous visit.

That’s the story. Friend turned up who I thought left and got to remake contact. Sadly the reunion was very brief. By the way, I found out what had happened that previous Sunday. I told her to bike my way at 9, but she left early at 8:30. It also turns out that there’s another orange house further down the road from me, that she mistook to be the landmark by my house. We just missed each other twice. There was also a bit of miscommunication because when I went to her hotel some guys there told me she had gone to church. If I knew she was already heading to the beach I would have simply followed. That the gist, the rest of the details are too complicated.


Advertisement



11th October 2008

Never expected to see a love story in this blog :D

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.6kb