Second Race


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
August 23rd 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OutgoingOutgoingOutgoing

Here's the boat heading out to the turn. The hoops that you see in front of each paddler have a dual purpose. They have a notch in them to hold a paddle and they also help keep the spray skirt up to shed water if you're using one (we're not).

Second Race


So, remember last time how I was a little annoyed I didn't get to race? I got to race this time. Twice. Total of 23 kilometers. I was in the novice race which was 8k and we won easily because there was no competition.

The last race was the men's senior race, which was almost canceled because it was getting late but I pointed out that we normally start practice at this time anyways. Anyways, the men's junior team races in this event (they're pretty good) but one of the guys had to go to work so I got his seat. Wasn't expecting to race twice but was happy to do so. Nothing against the novice but this race was a lot more fun. There was a lot of energy in the boat. About five minutes in my shoulders were killing me and I was wondering if I could keep this up but I managed to for the next hour, roughly (this race was 15k).

The conditions were deplorable, to say the least. Very windy, very rainy; the rain hurt it was moving so fast. For the first 20 minutes I was quite worried
On the ReturnOn the ReturnOn the Return

This is us heading back after making the turn. Emil is in the bow, Dave wearing the lifevest is 2 (my flatmate), Paul is 3, I'm four, I can't remember the woman in 5's name (only seen her twice) and Fletcher is steering (head of the club). The hotel Club Raro provides the scenery.
I was going to drop my paddle on each changeover because it was so slippery. Quite luckily I didn't. Also, if you have not guessed, it's this race that inspired my 'The Changeover' post, which I think is pretty good, let me know what you think.

In the end we finished 3rd to a Te Tupu (I think that's how it's spelled) boat and our own men's boat. I don't know how much I slowed them down, but hopefully not too much. The race was upwind to Matevera Point (sp?), back down to gas tanks near the harbor, and then back to Trader Jacks. I kinda died on the way back to Trader Jacks, but I think a lot were getting tired at that point.

Overall it was a good. Nothing like any race I've ever done before. There was one point on the way back to the tanks that we were pretty far off shore and no where near any boat. Just us and the swells, which were of decent size. It was really weird to be this pocket of energy in a seemingly silent and open sea. I could sense the boat was having a little trouble keeping the motivation up, but we made it through. Truly a unique experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb