Bobbing like a cork in a deep, blue sea


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
December 7th 2007
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As the ship anchors near Rarotonga, Alan and I enjoy a sunny breakfast on the balcony. When the tenders are lowered into the water, it becomes obvious that we are bobbing on a rocky sea. The boats tip and weave, bouncing against the rails where passengers will be boarding. Captain Romeo watches, a frown of concern clouding his face.

Alan and I wait for the Muri Lagoon Cruise, expecting that all excursions will be cancelled due to the rough seas. The travel desk calls our group and we wait to board the tenders. Just before I’m ready to step down the stairs to the boarding platform, I watch a tender rise high above the platform, slam back into the water and pound against the rail.

I look at Alan, “I’m not going,” I say.

“If you’re not comfortable, we don’t have to go,” he replies.

We walk back through the crowd and take the elevator to our cabin. From the balcony Alan and I watch the tender’s progress. The sea seems calmer.

“Want to give it another try?” he asks.

“Ok,” I say.

We rush back to the boarding area in hopes of catching our group. I take a deep breath and walk down the metal stairs hanging tightly to the rail. On the platform, I wait for the go ahead. One, two three, jump, then step onto the tender as deck hands firmly grasp my arms. Whew, I made it.

The ride to the pier is not as bumpy as I had imagined. Once on shore, Alan and I rush for the bus to our excursion. After a short drive, we arrive at Muri, where boats with thatched-covered roofs take us into the lagoon for snorkeling. Even in the sheltered water, the wind ruffles the waves and snorkeling isn’t so good.

As I move around in the water, I look for Alan. Where is he? Who is that heading back to the boat in a rush? Suddenly, a guide bobs his head out of the water. “I found it,” he says, holding up the shiny, gold watch that had fallen off Alan’s wrist.

Later, we motor to an islet where the guides grill chicken, shrimp, fish and pineapple for a beach barbecue. They demonstrate how to slice open a coconut and the various ways to tie a parero while the food is cooking. Before eating, the head guide offers a blessing, the first time that has ever occurred on one of our excursions.

And, we need all the help and guidance we can get as the tender bobs like a cork in the sea on the way back to the Mariner. When we finally arrive near the platform, the boat bounces sharply, slamming against the rail and breaking two windows. Then, our line breaks and the ocean sweeps the tender towards Mariner’s hull. As we bounce against it, I worry that we’ll be dumped into the sea. Finally, after several attempts, we make a safe exit from the tender and with shaky knees, I climb the metal stairs, thankful to be aboard.

Is it happy hour yet? I’m ready for my glass of champagne!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 146; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb