The $200 NZ Orange


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
October 31st 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Going through customs and security at Aukland airport xrays picked up my orange still in my purse. Earlier signs and declaration papers had talked about declaring my food items with lots of warnings and instructions. I had forgotten about my orange ( from Longview). I like to carry an orange to guard against hypoglycemia. But when filling out the declaration card I didn't remember it. The "enforcement officer" was not happy! When we were led to the "infringements" desk, I thought "oh-oh!" Then the officer said he would have to impose a fine of $200 NZ. Stunned and incredulous we paid the money and continued on our way. That's how we got the $200 NZ orange. Welcome to Aukland!!!

Upon reading the declaration papers later, I see that $200 is the normal fine for not declaring or mis-declaring. Higher fines and jail time are mentioned. AWK!!! Perhaps we were lucky?



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.8kb