We made it!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
September 9th 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Amazingly it seems I left Melbourne without forgetting anything!! In fact, Georgia has been impressed with some of the clever things I DID bring (e.g. plastic bags for dirty clothes and zip lock bags in case toiletries leak) - though I can't take all the credit as I had someone suggesting such things to me whilst packing.
Keep Qatar Airlines in mind next time you're looking at affordable flights to/from Europe - clean, comfortable, friendly service, great food and a few nice extra touches (sleep pack with eye mask, toothbrush + paste... and even socks!!). The flights could have been more enjoyable though... I may have jinxed myself (and Georgia) by recently discussing my tendency to be seated next to babies on planes who miraculously DON'T end up crying... I thought the occasional whimpering from a toddler on the flight from Melbourne to Doha was annoying. Then, on the trip from Doha to London, I got to experience 7 hours of unrelenting howling from a little girl two seats over. (To be fair I hadn't had a cigarette for about 20 hours, so it may not have been that bad)
Anyway, mostly a pleasant journey.
Took a little while to sink in that I'm actually here! Don't think it's hit me yet, how long we'll be away. Though my back and shoulders were certainly feeling the reality of it all when I carted my backpack from Heathrow to our accommodation - too late to rethink some clothing items perhaps?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb