Travelling again? Why?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
May 23rd 2014
Published: May 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last year in April, I head off to Australia to 'live the dream' for 8 months. Well that's what I thought anyway. I enjoyed my time over there, however the country is very expensive to live in, especially with the competition to find work, with thousands of europeans chasing the same dream. I hadn't imagined working my arse off for three months, working in an avocado factory in a dead end 'wolf creek' styled town full of haters and inbreds. With conditions worse off than a prison, paying a third of your wages for quite frankly..... a shithole, sometimes you began to think, 'what is the point of this'? With money on my mind and the lack off it, it restricted my chance of seeing places I imagined going to before I head off on my adventures.

I was lucky enough to visit some beautiful islands and beaches in the famous backpackers journey of the east coast. I even played for a football team out there and scored a goal which was pretty cool. However, I didnt have enough money to head off to the famous landmark of Uluru (Ayers Rock). I travelled to New Zealand, without seeing the South Island and missed most of South East Asia excluding Kuala Lumpur which I loved! There was soo much I wanted to see and do, and unfortunately I could not afford it. I would blame myself, maybe I didn't try hard enough to sustain a permananet job and maybe I preferred the beach. What also mucked my chances up of visiting more places was my idiotic bank, that ordered me to pay a grand off my student overdraft. Going into a bank in your third year of university with one semester left, asking for an overdraft which paid for a trip to Vegas now seemed a bad idea? Ah well I had a great time, can't complain.

In December, a week before Christmas, I decided to head home, with work a garentee with a lot of hours available. I decided to work my arse off back home to chase that dream of visiting what I missed out on, visiting ancient monuments, drinking buckets of alcohol, cilmbing mountains and searching for that little bit of paradise.

So before I 'settle down' and chase that career. Iv'e decided to go back to trek america, lie in hammock in Fiji, explore the beautiful mountains and glaciers in New Zealand and go a LITTLE BIT CRAZY IN SOUTH EAST ASIA!!


''I still believe in paradise. But now at least I know it's not some place you can look for. Because it's not where you go. It's how you feel for a moment in your life when you're a part of something. And if you find that moment... It lasts forever''.

''Not once you cross the ocean and cut yourself loose, looking for something more beautiful, something more exciting and yes, I admit, something more dangerous''.


''I told myself spreading news was part of a traveller's nature, but if I was being completely honest, I was just like everybody else: shit-scared of the great unknown. Desperate to take a little piece of home with me''.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb