Gap year sole trip around Australia, any advice would be greatly appreciated. : )


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 28th 2013
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi, my name is Ben and I am 21 years old (22 by the time I go travelling). My intention is to spend a year or maybe more travelling around Australia alone. This will be the first time I have done anything like this and certainly on my own. So I was wondering if any of you guys have any tips. I finish university mid to late June and then will spend a month or so getting everything sorted for my travels with this intention of leaving in either August or September. I have relatives in Sydney and therefore plan to stay with them for three or four days before moving on. I will be obtaining a working holiday via so that I can work as I travel and will be willing to do anything, fruit picking, bar work ect. However, as this is the first thing like this I have ever done my plans go a little hazy from here on. My reasons for travelling are that I would like to experience the real world, grow in confidence and find out what I want to really do with my life. I am a very active person and love the outdoors so see myself doing things such as scuba diving the great barrier reef or things like that but am unsure how would be best to build this sort of thing into such a long experience. Basically I know this probably seems like a very simple issue for all of you experience travellers but I was wondering what sort of way to go about planning a literary for this trip. What things must I see and do? What things must be experienced and what things will make me look back in 20 years time and say yeah I did that alone!? I would for my own peace of mind like to have a job sorted for when I get over there but how realistic is this? Anyway I realise I have rambled on a bit here but any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! It would also be great to hear from people who have done/ doing the same thing so I can have an idea of what to expect. Thanks : )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb