Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 29th 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Port Douglas from LookoutPort Douglas from LookoutPort Douglas from Lookout

This is where I run too - its uphill!
So now I'm in Port Douglas. Yesterday I took a boat (Wavelength) out to the outer reef and snorkled at 3 sites. It was totally amazing. We saw so many fish and different corals - I wish I knew what they were all called. It was a snorkel only boat, so no diving, and maximum 30 people, although we only had 15 which was awesome. We went out near Opal Island, because the sea was pretty rough and the wind was high, so we were hiding behind some other islands etc. Anyway, our crew were really great - skipper John, first mate and marine biologist Chris (who wore a bright blue superman suit so we could find him in the water - not flattering I can tell you) and James our deckhand. Wavelength was set up 28 years ago by a marine biologist who wanted to protect the reef as much as possible while showing people how amazing it is. They don't believe you have to dive to see amazing things, as all of the best parts of the reef are in the top two metres of water. So they still employ a mraine biologist who snorkels with you to point out all the amazing things that you would probably miss if you were out there on your own. I bought the cd of photos too - cos I'm a tourist.

Last night after the boat trip Shan (my roommate who went snorkeling with me) and I decided to check out the Sheridian, so we got all dressed up and went out there for dinner. It was very nice, and I had thought about maybe trying to work there, but I don't think I want to now. Our dinner was very nice, but it's just a dinner really. Shan's doing a tour of the Daintree area today and leaves tomorrow I think.

I went into the only employment agency in town today to ask about work. They only do hospitality though, and to work in hospitality here you have to pay $90 and get your Responsible Service something or other - so it looks like I'll either have to get that quick smart or hold out for some other job. The reception at the hostel job may come up in a week or two, but to be honest the hostel is pretty impersonal and isn't that friendly. I'm not
Port D MarinaPort D MarinaPort D Marina

Heading out on Wavelength
sure I'd like to work there, so I'm hoping to find something else asap. But everyone says there's not much work around right now, so fingers crossed. I haven't been here a week yet though - although it seems like longer. I guess I should get off the computer and wander round with my cv and hand it out to some people. Problem is, I don't really want to work at all! I need to buy a lottery ticket and hope for the best.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Me and ShanMe and Shan
Me and Shan

In our stinger suits to protect us from almost invisible jellyfish that can kill us - just about to go snorkling on the Great Barrier Reef
Me and ShanMe and Shan
Me and Shan

Drinking champagne at the Mirage


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb